When I created a Stack Exchange account there was an option which offered to link my profiles on the various sites. I did and now I see all my accounts on Stack Exchange.
But why is there a "sync with oldest profile" on my account page? I assumed after the merge I had linked all the accounts, so I have a common account which is kept automatically in sync across sites. What does the manual syncing link does then?