We can vote to mark our own posts for deletion, but we cannot delete them ourselves, a moderator or admin must do it. What rationale is there for this behavior? I can think of instances where the answer is useful in some way, has upvotes or comments, and deleting should be requested rather than committed. But, does it seem reasonable to allow users to delete their own posts under certain circumstances as well?
For example, consider PHP Force Download Help.
- The question was modified after I answered, and the new edit provided nearly the same code I suggested.
- I answered at the same time as a few others, and the selected answer is nearly the same, but provides the little extra information that makes it more useful.
I noticed all this before the accepted answer was even accepted, and my answer was rendered moot, not exactly helpful, and (not really in this case, but potentially others) could be misleading. Also, I have no upvotes or comments.
In this case, doesn't it seem reasonable to allow me to just delete the answer and move on?
So apparently, when I was deleting my post, it was being deleted, but this was not terribly obvious. First, the delete link asks "Vote to delete this post?" which makes it seem as though it may or may not be deleted, but you (as the owner) vote to delete it. Second, it still appears to you (as the owner) and any friends that have a reputation of 10k or higher, and not all of them realize that they can view deleted posts. In combination, it seems like the post was not deleted at all. Also, it is never actually being deleted, just hidden from <10k users.
As Benjol mentioned, perhaps the link text should be changed to 'hide' or 'supress' or something similar.