What is meta? ×
Meta Stack Exchange is where users like you discuss bugs, features, and support issues that affect the software powering all 150 Stack Exchange communities.

I saw http://answers.unity3d.com/index.html which looks a clone of SO, but I couldn't find any reference to SO or any affiliations to it mentioned anywhere.

Is this a white labeled StackExchange site or a plain rip-off?

enter image description here

Update: I did see in their faq that they recently moved to QATO: enter image description here

So I guess StackExchange allows the sites to be white labeled?

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

up vote 5 down vote accepted

It's powered by Qato, and formerly used SE 1.0. So yeah, they've used an SE ripoff.

Edit: If by "white labelled" you mean SE used to licence their software, then yes, they used to. If you mean they licenced it and allowed the licencee to remove all references to StackExchange from the website, I am pretty sure they did not.

share|improve this answer
The wording "ripped off" is a bit hard. The old white-label was discontinued, so they hadn't much choice - either switch to another engine, or try to move to SE 2.0 through Area 51 (which does not really support the same business model). – Paŭlo Ebermann Aug 23 '11 at 20:01
@Paulo I was more referring to Qato ripping off SE. Fixed – Matthew Read Aug 23 '11 at 20:02

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .