I was doing my usual trawl through the Flagged Posts page, and finally got annoyed enough about this 'feature' to raise a question about it. This close vote confirmation/information tooltip is what annoys me:

enter image description here


The problem: I don't need it.
Why? I really don't care what it has to say.

Let me explain why this feature makes an annoying UX for me
Once I have cast my vote, I move on to the next flagged question. I have a great interest in keeping SO clean and tidy, but I have almost zero interest in the specific question I just voted on. I can also add up to five without any help - if a question already has two close votes, then I cast mine, I know that it will require two more - basic arithmetic, I don't need to be told1. If it collects enough votes to be closed then fantastico!! If it doesn't, then que será, será, so be it2. If someone else added a close vote at the same time as me, I still don't really care.

Now add to that the fact that I am voting on numerous questions. When the tooltip pops up, it obscures part of the title of the next entry, and I have to make an extra click to get rid of it immediately.

Maybe that tooltip is useful the first 5 times you see it, but it certainly isn't when you've seen it for the 1000th time.

I also know of this question and this question, my question talks about the same thing but in a different location. And those questions are 18 months old.


1 If you want to make it interesting, change the base of the number shown. Just to be different, make it base 3.

2 Apologies to any Spanish speakers for this butchering of your language - blame Hollywood.

share|improve this question
2  
I think it is che sarà, sarà ("what will be will be"), which is Italian, not Spanish. :-) –  kiamlaluno Oct 6 '11 at 10:57
4  
    
@kiamlaluno umm... it is spanish... –  amanaP lanaC A nalP A naM A Oct 6 '11 at 14:56
2  
I hate that this feature is even there in the first place. It only display part of the question. So all this does is make people close questions without actually read them in their entirety. –  NullUserException อ_อ Oct 6 '11 at 19:09
add comment

1 Answer

What is reported in the dialog box is also incorrect: A question can be closed with less users than what is reported, if a moderator votes to close it.
The reported number is the maximum number of users required to close the question, but I don't see the point of reporting that, as the maximum number of users required to close a question doesn't change, and it is already stated in the FAQ.

share|improve this answer
4  
Exactly. I should be getting a tooltip for results or events that are not expected, like Uh oh, you cannot vote because you have no votes left, rather than for things which just worked the way a user would expect them to work. –  slugster Oct 6 '11 at 11:11
1  
Generally when a moderator closes it isn't considered a "vote". In any case, the UI intentionally ignores moderators all over the place, since it would get a little old to tack on "...except for mods" everywhere –  Michael Mrozek Oct 6 '11 at 18:33
    
@MichaelMrozek A moderator's vote is called blinding vote; I would get it still a vote. The point I am trying to make is that the information is misleading, and not necessary. There are cases where the number of votes changes, such as the case of voting for delete a question (if I remember correctly), but in this case, the number of votes is always the same (if a moderator doesn't vote to close). –  kiamlaluno Oct 6 '11 at 18:38
add comment

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .