What is meta? ×
Meta Stack Exchange is where users like you discuss bugs, features, and support issues that affect the software powering all 134 Stack Exchange communities.

I was browsing through SODE this morning and found this SODE query that claims I have cast 279 competing votes. Which got me wondering; for a vote to count towards the Sportsmanship badge, do you need to have at least +1 vote count on your own answer before voting on competing answers?

It is not uncommon for me to upvote other answers before my answers recieve any votes. If I do that, and then my answer gets a vote, does my competing upvote (retroactively) count towards this badge, or no?

Sportsmanship Up voted 100 competing answers.


This is all assuming that the query is sound and still up to date. It may just be an incorrect query; I am not very good with SQL!

Query is:

DECLARE @UserId int = ##UserId##

select distinct v2.postid as 'Own', p2.body as 'Own answer', p2.Score as 'Own score'
from votes v2
inner join posts p2 on p2.id=v2.postid
where 
  p2.posttypeid=2 
  and p2.score>0 
  and p2.CommunityOwnedDate is null 
  and p2.OwnerUserId=@UserId
  and exists (select * from votes v1 inner join posts p1 on p1.id=v1.postid
  where p1.ParentId=p2.ParentId)
share|improve this question
1  
How does the query fetch your own votes? I don't think that information is available. –  NullUserException อ_อ Nov 14 '11 at 19:48
    
@Null Added the query –  chown Nov 14 '11 at 19:51
1  
What I am trying to say is that the query is incorrect. –  NullUserException อ_อ Nov 14 '11 at 19:52
    
\@Null @MatthewRead - That makes sense, ty! –  chown Nov 14 '11 at 19:55

1 Answer 1

up vote 7 down vote accepted

Meh, even though this links to another MSO post, is is the answer. Reposting it as such.

When Sportsmanship was introduced, you did have to cast your vote for competing answers after posting your own answer. I don't know if you had to have a positive score on your answer first.

However, you no longer have to post your own answer before voting for competing answers, according to this answer by Jarrod that introduces the rule change. By extension, the answer to your question is no.

share|improve this answer
    
Thanks for that link/info; an interesting read. I wonder if this query is just wrong. –  chown Nov 14 '11 at 19:45
2  
@chown The data explorer doesn't include the owners of votes IIRC. There is no query that can be even remotely accurate unless that is changed, which it won't be due to privacy issues. –  Matthew Read Nov 14 '11 at 19:48

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .