What is meta? ×
Meta Stack Exchange is where users like you discuss bugs, features, and support issues that affect the software powering all 130 Stack Exchange communities.

A while back I deleted my account on one of the stackoverflow sites namely http://cs.stackexchange.com/ . At the time of deletion I was prompted that even after deletion of account, you can connect to the profile again.

Today I tried to login again and website created a new profile and connected all my accounts to my other stackoverflow accounts. Is there any way to connect to the lost profile with my current damned profile?

PS : The feature to delete your account should also be made more handy. Last time I needed to mail some admin as far as I remember.

share|improve this question
    
You should have asked to disassociate your account from the rest, not delete it. –  Shadow Wizard Jun 26 '12 at 7:47
    
@ShaWizDowArd Not sure about this option. I don't remember being offered this choice. –  damned Jun 26 '12 at 8:30
4  
Wait, you asked for a permanent deletion, then you want it undone, and you want deletion to be easier? –  balpha Jun 26 '12 at 10:54
    
@balpha When I deleted, I got no option whether I want to disassociate my one account form the rest or whether I want to permanently delete it. If it would have showed me such suggestions with warnings, probably I would have given more thoughts to it. By showing such warning about losing data, one might change their mind :) –  damned Jun 26 '12 at 11:33

1 Answer 1

up vote 7 down vote accepted

Your account data is hard-deleted, there is no simple way to restore all the account information, see this post from Nick Craver for more detail:

On deletion (or destruction - user deletion + deleting posts, almost always reserved for spammers) we nuke everything about the user, no record just a line somewhere with a user ID in it, we don't even know what your display name was, much less any private data (email, real name, etc.)

We've talked about recording this on delete/destroy in case a user wants to come back, but we've punted on it until now for 2 reasons:

  • There are likely complications we don't realize until we get into implementing this (recording merges taught me this one)
  • We don't want the encourage the trigger-happy "delete me!" behavior in any way.

That's not to say we won't do it to make even the exceptions easier on us, at some point it's likely (just as merges finally became a necessity) the pain of manually reversing both of these is a nightmare, trust me.

If you want to be deleted, that's fine by us - in most cases we're sorry to see you go, but we'll respect your decision. However, when you ask for deletion do understand that you're being deleted, and getting any data back is not always possible - and even if it is, it's a total pain in the ass for us, and time much better spent on improving the site for everyone.

TL;DR version: don't expect your data to be restored (posts associated, etc.) if you come back later, we simply don't have the resources to keep doing that.

While SE might decide to spend the effort to manually reassociate your posts to your new account, they make no guarantee on that.

share|improve this answer

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .