What is meta? ×
Meta Stack Exchange is where users like you discuss bugs, features, and support issues that affect the software powering all 140 Stack Exchange communities.

Somehow I found the Facebook Stackoverflow site, with the icon being the regular stackoverflow icon with a facebook icon on top of it.

Is it an easter egg? If so, how does it differ from the original stackoverflow site?

share|improve this question
@Martijn, if you feel like retagging, then mini-site seems to be a good starting point. (Either to search for more candidates for your new facebook.stackoverflow, or as the tag to use instead.) –  Arjan Sep 15 '12 at 15:54
@Arjan: Use both, perhaps? –  Martijn Pieters Sep 15 '12 at 15:56
Sure, @Martijn, if you feel like it ;-) (It seems earlier, some folks used mini-site and facebook.) –  Arjan Sep 15 '12 at 15:59
It's a blight on all of Stack Exchange. You were better off not knowing... –  casperOne Sep 16 '12 at 1:23

1 Answer 1

up vote 10 down vote accepted

It is not an easter egg; the http://facebook.stackoverflow.com site is a 'view' on stackoverflow.com, where it only shows questions that have a facebook related tag. In essence, it is the same underlying database, but the question lists are filtered.

From the site's FAQ:

Questions asked on Stack Overflow with facebook related tags. If you want your question to appear here, it must have one of those tags.

The FAQ lists the full set of tags used to create the filter.

The site was created by Facebook in collaboration with Stack Overflow (Facebook's announcement, StackOverflow announcement) to support Facebook Platform developers. When you visit the site without logging in, you are greeted with a message box telling you about the site:

facebook.stackoverflow.com greeting

share|improve this answer
Wow, is it some kind of developer advertisement facebook is doing? –  user152229 Sep 15 '12 at 14:51
I've found the facebook announcement and added it to the answer. In short: yes, this is a facebook-sponsored site. –  Martijn Pieters Sep 15 '12 at 14:57
Also announced on the SE blog. –  Arjan Sep 15 '12 at 15:50
@Arjan: thanks, I'll add that to the answer if you don't mind. –  Martijn Pieters Sep 15 '12 at 16:00

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .