What is meta? ×
Meta Stack Exchange is where users like you discuss bugs, features, and support issues that affect the software powering all 130 Stack Exchange communities.

This question already has an answer here:

I'm doing a project where I have to mine through some stackoverflow data and I was wondering if the reputation that a user earns/loses on a question that is deleted/closed/locked counts towards the user's overall reputation or are they discarded as soon as the original question's status is changed to one of the above?

So if for example I originally have 10 reputation points and I answer a question and my answer gets upvoted twice and now have 30 points. If this question is deleted in the future, will my reputation go back to 10 points?

From browsing a few posts related to this, it seems that reputation on deleted/closed questions does count, but i am not sure with respect to deleted questions. Also it seems there have been a few bug fixes in this area over the past. So I was hoping someone can give a definitive answer to this.

As an aside , I would also appreciate it if someone could tell me what happens to the reputation points earned/lost on deleted answers as well.

share|improve this question

marked as duplicate by animuson, Anna Lear Feb 8 '13 at 19:36

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

1 Answer 1

up vote 1 down vote accepted

Reputation on deleted posts is reversed unless the following two conditions are true:

  • The post has been visible on the site for at least 60 days.

  • The post has a score of at least 3.

share|improve this answer
    
thanks...is it the same for closed and locked as well and could you tell me if this has always been the case or was there a change to the policy recently? –  nave Feb 8 '13 at 19:25
    
Closed and locked posts will not reverse any reputation effects, only deletion. Long ago, reputation effects were not automatically reversed. You always kept reputation until you triggered a manual reputation recalculation on your account. This was changed a while ago and reputation is now automatically recalculated within 5 minutes of a deletion. Shortly after that these two rules were added. –  animuson Feb 8 '13 at 19:27
    
the data that I have is from July 2012 so will this be from after the rule changes were implemented? –  nave Feb 8 '13 at 19:30
    
The original announcement was posted in February 2012. –  animuson Feb 8 '13 at 19:36
    
alright thanks.. –  nave Feb 8 '13 at 19:44

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .