What is meta? ×
Meta Stack Exchange is where users like you discuss bugs, features, and support issues that affect the software powering all 134 Stack Exchange communities.

If a user posts a message in chat that links directly to another chat message like

12345689: You smell funny!

The chat rightly highlights message 12345689 when you hover over User: You smell funny!

If the user or a moderator deletes the You smell funny! message, the text changes to (removed), which again is expected.

However, hovering over (removed) still highlights the previously referred-to message, in this case 12345689. I have to assume this is unintentional behavior for a message that is ostensibly deleted.

share|improve this question
2  
Does this still happen for non-mods? –  Kevin Mar 1 '13 at 15:15
1  
But how else will I know which deleted messages might be juicy enough to read? –  Ben Brocka Mar 1 '13 at 15:17
    
@иɪvэЖєvɪɴ It looks like it does. I'm not a mod in the SO-specific chat and I still get that behavior. –  JNK Mar 1 '13 at 16:24

1 Answer 1

I feel like this is pretty standard fare. What I mean is that most forum based websites will show [deleted] but if you rollover and/or click it will show the comment. I sort of agree with that as well; if you don't want to see the comment then don't click it. At the risk of sounding like a 1st-year philosophy student, personally I am scared of the day when the general mentality is to shift to permanent moderation.

share|improve this answer
1  
I see what you mean now, but I'm still going to say that I think it should be like this but I think the message should be shown still. This way you can see to whom the comment was pointed and usually you can infer why. At least if the content was shown it would make more sense, but that is just my opinion. –  tmwoods Mar 2 '13 at 0:40
    
(Pardon, I deleted my comment after I realized that I also misunderstood the bug report, differently. I've updated the screenshot.) –  Jeremy Banks Mar 2 '13 at 0:46
    
Well mods and the original poster can still see the message once it's deleted. I don't think that removing the indication of what you are replying to for everyone else is somehow dangerous or covering up anything. –  JNK Mar 2 '13 at 2:33

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .