What is meta? ×
Meta Stack Exchange is where users like you discuss bugs, features, and support issues that affect the software powering all 131 Stack Exchange communities.

I earned the infamous Tumbleweed badge for a question with almost no attention. Do I lose the badge if I delete the question?

share|improve this question
1  
See here under the What can cause a badge to be lost/revoked/taken away after it is awarded? section of the answer. –  Ren May 13 '13 at 13:46
    
Have you tried it? Delete a question you got tumbleweed on. Then just un delete it. –  Cole Johnson May 14 '13 at 17:07

4 Answers 4

up vote 14 down vote accepted

You do not lose any badges once they are awarded whether that may be because of deletion of a question or later downvotes.

There are a few exceptions to this general rule:

  • Tag badges (ie , , etc. badges)
  • A developer may remove a badge because it was gained via gaming the system
  • A badge may inadvertently be removed when two accounts are merged
share|improve this answer
2  
Exception is that a moderator can manually revoke a badge. This is only done in suspicion of foul play. –  AAA May 13 '13 at 13:43
    
Thank You! I have updated my answer. –  Josh Mein May 13 '13 at 13:45
1  
Another exception is accounts merging. Until recently it caused certain badges to disappear, as merging did not transfer badges and it was only recently fixed for three badges but others might still be affected. –  Shadow Wizard May 13 '13 at 13:49
    
@ShaWizDowArd Thank You! I have updated my answer again :P –  Josh Mein May 13 '13 at 13:58

Nope, once won it remains in your collection. This goes the same for badges like 'Unsung Hero' and 'Tenacious' which are awarded based on the moment of measurement, and whose criteria might not be met anymore afterwards.

share|improve this answer

You don't lose the Tumbleweed badge, but you don't gain it the next time you have a question matching the requisites to get the Tumbleweed badge.

share|improve this answer
    
Tumbleweed is gained once thus this answer is irrelevant. You can't gain it again. –  Shadow Wizard May 21 '13 at 8:10

Not at all, if you earn a badge once, it always persist in your profile for forever. You can earn some badges many times, but most of them can be earned only single time.

share|improve this answer

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .