What is meta? ×
Meta Stack Exchange is where users like you discuss bugs, features, and support issues that affect the software powering all 127 Stack Exchange communities.

SO has a limit on the amount of reputation that can be earnt per day of 200 (there are exceptions but this question isn't about that).

My question is exactly what constitutes a day? Is it any 24 hour period?

Or is it the date as viewed from a specific time zone? If so does this put some at disadvantage due to the time zone they live in?

share|improve this question
add comment

3 Answers

up vote 7 down vote accepted

It's 24 hours in UTC.

See the explanation in the FAQ.

share|improve this answer
    
The FAQ link you post states "(A new day starts 0:00 UTC == 7pm EST == 4pm PST == 1am CET)." IOW it is viewed from a specific time zone. –  AnthonyWJones Aug 28 '09 at 8:52
    
The SO timezone is UTC. Time period for the rep cap is 0:00 UTC to 24:00 UTC. The other time zones are only there to give an overview what that means to your timezone if you are not a UTCer. –  Ladybug Killer Aug 28 '09 at 8:57
add comment

24 hours. I see no disadvantage depending on your time zone. We all get 24 hours each, right?

share|improve this answer
    
The point is the 24 hours starts at the same time (00:00 UTC) for everyone globally. It isn't a rolling 24 hour period. –  AnthonyWJones Aug 28 '09 at 9:13
    
However you are correct there isn't actually any advantage. –  AnthonyWJones Aug 28 '09 at 9:21
add comment

For me personally, the rep limits go from 8pm EST to 8pm EST, due to Daylight Savings Time. Once the clocks roll back again, it will return to 7pm EST to 7pm EST.

I wouldn't necessarily say that there are any advantages involved in what the time period is. The only disadvantage is if your day happens to revolve around time periods when the vast majority of users are not using the site. For those of us in America and in the UK, are activity coincides nicely with the activity of other users, which makes it easy to hit rep cap.

share|improve this answer
2  
You lousy Northern Hemisphereans. –  random Aug 28 '09 at 11:52
    
Small clarification. In the summer, we are in Daylight Saving Time which is denoted with the abbreviation (E D T). So the rep limits go from 8pm E D T to 8pm E D T. When the clocks go back, Eastern Standard Time is abbreviated (E S T). –  Robert Cartaino Aug 28 '09 at 15:31
add comment

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .