What is meta? ×
Meta Stack Exchange is where users like you discuss bugs, features, and support issues that affect the software powering all 133 Stack Exchange communities.

Now that the on-hold/close chane is live, how do site moderators update their off-topic reasons? Our list is rather sparse, and we are starting to get complaints questions about which to use.

share|improve this question
    
For advice before you start changing things, read What do site moderators need to do to support the new custom question close reasons? –  Gilles Nov 25 '13 at 13:20

2 Answers 2

  • Go to a question on your site and click the "close" link.
  • Select "off-topic" from the list.
  • At the bottom of the list of close reasons there will be a link to edit the list.
    From there you can add a custom close reason or edit close reasons that other moderators have added.

enter image description here

It will require another moderator to approve your edits to make sure that at least two people approve of the changes being made.

share|improve this answer
1  
I don't see an option to Edit, only to Deactivate and 'Add Custom Reason'. –  JonW Jun 26 '13 at 13:11
    
@JonW From what I can see, only the default (generic) close reason and custom close reasons can be edited by diamond moderators. (Updated my answer.) –  Bill the Lizard Jun 26 '13 at 13:17
    
New plan: become a moderator and add "This question is off topic because sbarble gribble wubblepumpus." –  Emrakul Dec 17 '13 at 17:06
    
@Emracool You should definitely run on the "incomprehensible gibberish close reason" platform in the next moderator election. ;) –  Bill the Lizard Dec 17 '13 at 17:45

Open the close dialog on any question, and click "off topic". Then click "edit these reasons"

enter image description here

Initially, you'll see a default OT reason, possibly with some custom ones. The default OT reason does not show up in the close menu, unless you currently have no active custom reasons. However, the default OT reason can show up on posts if:

  • Close voters have used the custom (freeform) reason
  • The post had outstanding close votes from before the overhaul

enter image description here

The custom ones can be deactivated. Deactivated close reasons cannot be seen in the close dialog, but will still be shown on closed questions (which have in the past been closed with that reason) and can be easily reactivated. To reactivate, click the "show deactivated" button, and then "reactivate".


To propose a new custom reason, click the "add custom reason" button and write one.

enter image description here

As you can see, it is editable and can be deactivated, but it needs another moderator's approval to show up in the close dialog.

Note that these close reasons1 cannot be edited once approved. Make sure the reason is good -- it should clearly explain the problem (with links to relevant help center or meta posts if necessary), and if possible explain how to fix it. Try to collaborate with the community on these.


You can also reorder the close reasons by dragging them. Only 3 close reasons can be active at any given time. 1. Except the default; this one is always editable.

share|improve this answer
    
Snap. The non-editable thing is a drag. –  MPD Jun 26 '13 at 13:38
    
@MPD Deactivate and create new ones (get consensus on meta and fetch an extra mod for the activating). This isn't supposed to be something you do daily; so not really a pain. –  Manishearth Jun 26 '13 at 13:43
    
If you deactivate a reason, does that wipe out / change any posts that already have that reason? We have been discussing this on our meta, but there isn't consensus on a few, so I anticipate more-than-the-average editing the first few weeks. –  MPD Jun 26 '13 at 13:48
    
@MPD Please hold while I do some SCIENCE on one of my pet science sites. –  Manishearth Jun 26 '13 at 13:49
1  
@MPD No. Deactivating only removes it from the close dialog –  Manishearth Jun 26 '13 at 13:50
    
Thanks for the info. –  MPD Jun 26 '13 at 16:12

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .