All standard deletions by the content poster, the community or moderators (including the Community user) are soft deletes. The posts are still visible with a red background indefinitely, though they can only be seen by moderators and 10k rep users (on graduated sites). They can still be edited and unless deleted by a moderator can have un-delete votes cast upon them.
Occasionally hard deletions are made by the dev team, however this is usually only 1 revision removed because it contained sensitive information (passwords etc.).
Don't worry, users without the moderator tools privilege will not see your deleted answer, or in the case of deleted questions will encounter a 404 page.