Meta Stack Exchange is where users like you discuss bugs, features, and support issues that affect the software powering all 158 Stack Exchange communities.

What is meta?
Here's how it works:
  1. Any Stack Exchange user can ask a question
  2. The community provides support, votes on ideas, and reports bugs
  3. Your voice helps shape the way Stack Exchange operates

How do I remove login credentials (emails or OpenIDs) from my account?

For more information, see "How do I add or move login credentials from my account?" in the Help Center.


Return to FAQ Index

share|improve this question

migrated from stackoverflow.com Sep 16 '09 at 16:46

This question came from our site for professional and enthusiast programmers.

up vote 13 down vote accepted

On most sites, the remove login feature has been moved. You now must go to a Q&A site, such as stackoverflow.com, then go to your profile -> edit profile and settings -> my logins.

You will now see the remove button, like the below:

Note: changing your login methods on one site will change your login methods for all sites you currently use. (source)

As for the rest of the sites with the older design, according to this answer:

  1. Open your profile page
  2. Click the "my logins" link near the top
  3. Click the little (x) to the right of the login you wish to remove.

If you squint hard enough, you can see through that black box

share|improve this answer
7  
I think this info is outdated - the "my logins" page on my accout looks completely different. – klauspeter Oct 7 '13 at 15:57
1  
Same problem here. When I click "My logins" from the profile page of StackExchange.com, I get a small modal which lists 2 Stack Exchange email addresses (one of which I want to remove) and 1 Google login (which I do not want to remove). I guess I'll have to contact StackExchange directly? – blong Sep 23 '14 at 13:58
2  
@blong the Network Profile isn't a real profile. It's a read-only view of your activity over the whole network of sites. As such, you should not be able to edit anything, so this behavior is by design. You just have to do it per-site. Actually, per this answer, doing it in one single site will affect all other sites automatically – Shadow Wizard Dec 7 '15 at 10:50

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .