What is meta? ×
Meta Stack Exchange is where users like you discuss bugs, features, and support issues that affect the software powering all 134 Stack Exchange communities.

david-verhasselt

He has answered two questions (both are not community wiki) and received 56 up-votes for them, which should have given him a reputation of 560. He hasn't asked even a single question, so the probability of him offering reputation as a bounty is nil. Just out of curiosity, what happened to his 260 points?

share|improve this question

3 Answers 3

up vote 6 down vote accepted

There is a reputation cap of 200 points per day. So after 20 upvotes on the same day, he did not gain any additional reputation.

From the FAQ:

  • A maximum of +200 reputation may be gained per day. Accepted answers are immune to this cap (source) as are bounties (source). This immunity applies only to answers accepted and bounties received after reaching the cap.
    (A new day starts 0:00 UTC == 7pm EST == 4pm PST == 1am CET).
share|improve this answer
    
EST for what country? –  random Nov 15 '09 at 14:44
    
Yeah, I missed that option. Accepting this answer as per the FGITW rule :) –  Amarghosh Nov 15 '09 at 14:45
1  
    
    
Ah. Seeing that 0:00 UTC == 7pm EST, it must be the former. –  Stephan202 Nov 15 '09 at 15:05
    
There really should be a comma before "EST". –  Brad Gilbert Nov 15 '09 at 15:27

Looking at his reputation graph, it seems like the poor chap was 'hit by' the daily reputation cap.

share|improve this answer
1  
No votes for you. –  Amarghosh Nov 15 '09 at 14:46
    
He also got the reversal badge out of it –  perbert Nov 15 '09 at 21:52

The 56-vote question is a lot of votes for a low-volume post. Most likely, he received those votes very quickly so he hit his daily reputation cap (200 points per day) and didn't receive reputation points for every vote.

share|improve this answer
    
+1 daily rep cap it is. –  Amarghosh Nov 15 '09 at 14:45

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .