What is meta? ×
Meta Stack Exchange is where users like you discuss bugs, features, and support issues that affect the software powering all 127 Stack Exchange communities.

I asked a question back in December, and while going through my questions today I saw that it had no answers, so I decided to delete it, but I almost immediately changed my mind, so I reversed it.

An answer that was previously deleted is now showing up again. Is this how it's suppose to work?

Edit: I might be mistaken on what happened, I just tried it here and it just added a vote for deletion on my answer. Shouldn't my answer remain deleted?

share|improve this question
14  
Now that's a Necromancer! –  random Feb 20 '10 at 10:53
2  
A fix for this will be pushed in tonight's build. –  Jarrod Dixon Feb 7 '11 at 22:33
add comment

2 Answers

up vote 0 down vote accepted

This is by design at the moment, as we'd have to check post history on undeletion to "tell" whether an answer to a deleted question really should remain deleted or not.

While I agree it's not an entirely correct behavior, I am not entirely sure undeleting questions occurs enough for it to be a serious problem.

share|improve this answer
20  
Better to solve a problem before it becomes a problem. –  Tyler Carter Feb 21 '10 at 9:05
2  
Please note that there are 2 issues here, 1) answer becomes undeleted and 2) answer cannot be deleted by owner. –  Henk Holterman Feb 21 '10 at 19:46
5  
I am not sure, why you need to check post history for that. Isn't that simple as if delete_votes - undelete_votes > 0 : set_status_as_deleted for answers? It could display delete(1) in UI, so apparently it stores delete votes and undelete votes? no? –  YOU May 26 '10 at 17:00
    
@S.Mark: That would work for answers deleted by consensus, but what about moderator- (or owner-) deleted answers? –  Adam Robinson Jan 30 '11 at 22:19
add comment

It was my answer that came back, I can no longer delete it. Here is the question.

I see a Delete(1) tag underneath and when I click that it shows a "You already voted to delete..." message.

share|improve this answer
    
Maybe you already know, but if you really want it gone you can flag it –  Andreas Bonini Feb 20 '10 at 19:36
2  
@Koper, Yes, I'm not too concerned about this answer. But I would like this bug fixed. –  Henk Holterman Feb 20 '10 at 20:44
add comment

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .