What is meta? ×
Meta Stack Exchange is where users like you discuss bugs, features, and support issues that affect the software powering all 131 Stack Exchange communities.

I'm not understanding the recent activity date ranges at all. For example, today around 12PM I had 105 rep for the day. I was hoping to reach the cap when I got home from work :D but now I click "today" and I've got 25. I don't get it. When I click "Yesterday" it shows me posts from 2 hours ago. That's not yesterday, so that to me is a bug. Unless days are shorter in SO world of course. That's fine, but perhaps they should not be called "today" and "yesterday" if they don't start and end say, oh, around 24 hours apart. If I answered something today, I feel it should be in today, not moved out to yesterday after a few hours.

share|improve this question
    
i feel sure this is a duplicate, but i'm not finding it. if it isn't a dupe, it should probably get added to the faq. –  quack quixote Mar 20 '10 at 1:33
1  
@~quack, this one? meta.stackexchange.com/questions/27199/when-does-a-day-start –  o.k.w Mar 20 '10 at 1:42

2 Answers 2

up vote 3 down vote accepted

Days are defined in UTC.

The day ends at Midnight UTC, more commonly known as:

  • 4:00PM PST
  • 5:00PM MST
  • 6:00PM CST
  • 7:00PM EST

Notice these are Standard Times not, Daylight Savings Times. Therefore if you are in the Pacific Standard Timezone, and you post something at 2PM, at 5PM, it will be considered yesterday.

share|improve this answer
    
Sounds like I have to get up earlier then to reach my daily limit! –  typeoneerror Mar 20 '10 at 1:08
    
Your times should go in the other direction. –  Lance Roberts Mar 20 '10 at 1:08
    
EST is 5 hours off of GMT, so 7 or 8 pm EST is the changeover. –  Lance Roberts Mar 20 '10 at 1:11
    
@Lance Sorry, didn't clearly understand your comment. –  Tyler Carter Mar 20 '10 at 1:12
    
This may explain why I've missed out on getting the fanatic badge on SO. –  Tangurena Mar 20 '10 at 15:12

If you are on linux/unix/osx

$ TZ=utc date

Will give you the time of day in UTC

share|improve this answer
    
I searched for how to do this at the command line in Windows (sacrelige!), as I was curious, and got a SO post.. stackoverflow.com/questions/203090/… –  Jeff Atwood Mar 20 '10 at 11:15

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .