What is meta? ×
Meta Stack Exchange is where users like you discuss bugs, features, and support issues that affect the software powering all 128 Stack Exchange communities.

Simple thought experiment (provoked by the comments on this answer),

  • A question crosses the 10 up-votes barrier.
  • The "Nice Question" badge is awarded.
  • Someone down-votes the question to 9.
  • Random stuff happens (any length of time passes, other badges are awarded, whatever)
  • The question gets up-voted again
  • ?
  • profit

Will "Nice Question" be awarded a second time?

share|improve this question
    
This wasn't quite the situation I proposed; you left out the part where a second question is submitted and gets upvoted 10 times, but doesn't get the badge because the first question is no longer eligible. Obviously a new badge is awarded once both questions reach 10 upvotes; the mystery is whether the second badge will be attached to the first question or the second one. Is the system smart enough to remember that the badge that's about to be awarded really belongs to a totally different question? –  Aarobot Jul 22 '10 at 17:44
    
@Aarobot: Okay, that's a different situation indeed. But what I originally meant was what I wrote here. I was quite, but not entirely certain that a badge would not be awarded again, I just wanted to make sure. –  Tomalak Jul 22 '10 at 18:25
    
@Ladybug: Nice edit. –  dmckee Jul 22 '10 at 23:05

3 Answers 3

up vote 15 down vote accepted

No, badges are not removed from your account when you no longer meet the critera, but you will not gain any new badges until the 'undeserved" badge slots are filled.

  1. I get a badge for +10 post (My profile shows 1, I meet critera for 1)
  2. I get a downvote. (My profile shows 1, I meet critera for 0)
  3. I produce a second +10 post (My profile shows 1, I meet criteria for 1)
  4. I get an upvote on the original (My profile shows 2, I meet criteria for 2)

So it only increments the number in your profile when you increase the number that you "deserve" according to the back end.

The Badges FAQ says it better.

When badges are awarded, the system checks to see how many you're supposed to have, and only awards new badges when the number of badges you're supposed to have is greater than the number of badges you have.

share|improve this answer
    
That's interesting. I never knew the 'X nn' worked that way. –  Tim Post Jul 22 '10 at 17:48
    
+1 and thanks to the pointer to the FAQ. Should have investigated some more before asking. –  Tomalak Jul 22 '10 at 18:27

No, it is only awarded one time for one question. But it is not revoked, when falling back to 9 votes.

share|improve this answer

I don't think so. Badges aren't ever taken away, but the number you should have is checked when the process runs, so you won't earn a new badge if you already have one that you shouldn't.

share|improve this answer

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .