What is meta? ×
Meta Stack Exchange is where users like you discuss bugs, features, and support issues that affect the software powering all 134 Stack Exchange communities.

The notification below doesn't go away unless I click on it, even if I've already seen the responses it's referring to.

alt text

This is especially annoying when I know I've looked at the responses already, since then the notification just becomes something I have to click so that it will go away, but I don't get any new information from.

Is there some sort of option to modify this behavior?


I naturally click on the envelope to go to the summary page. This makes the lighted-up envelope dim, and I see the responses, so now I have no reason to click on the inbox, or if I click on the inbox, I can navigate directly to the responses, so I have no reason to click on the envelope, so each should be able to easily disable the other.

share|improve this question

closed as too localized by Pops, Ben Brocka, kiamlaluno, jadarnel27, jonsca Jul 28 '12 at 3:44

This question is unlikely to help any future visitors; it is only relevant to a small geographic area, a specific moment in time, or an extraordinarily narrow situation that is not generally applicable to the worldwide audience of the internet. For help making this question more broadly applicable, visit the help center.If this question can be reworded to fit the rules in the help center, please edit the question.

1  
Do you mean you want the inbox to "know" that you looked at a comment / answer or question after the notification is inserted in the timeline? –  waffles Sep 27 '10 at 6:59
1  
@waffles - Yes. Exactly. ---- If that's not feasible, I'd just like to be able to turn off either the inbox or the envelope. –  Peter Ajtai Sep 27 '10 at 7:07
2  
I can't believe this hasn't gotten more attention, the behavior is just so wrong. –  T.J. Crowder Oct 12 '10 at 0:25
2  
The envelope is just a distant memory. The global inbox is now the only game in town. Hence, this is too localized. –  Pops Jul 25 '12 at 15:24
    
@PopularDemand Have a status-completed added too? –  Servy Jul 25 '12 at 19:26
    
@Servy It's not exactly completed, just... some mixture of "no longer applicable" and "obsolete." It should really just be deleted. –  Pops Jul 25 '12 at 19:33

1 Answer 1

up vote 0 down vote accepted

No, this is not possible -- we're not even going to attempt to track every single item you've "viewed" across the entire network of all websites we run.

If you like, you can install a greasemonkey script to disable these areas, if you feel so strongly about it.

share|improve this answer
1  
Of course it's possible. If you don't think it's possible, then do away with one of the redundant indicators so there's only ONE thing nagging people. The way it is now is a UX failure. –  T.J. Crowder Oct 1 '10 at 21:26

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .