In a similar vein as to the warnings about answering a closed question or revising a question when someone has posted an edit, there is a warning you get if you try to edit a question that has been deleted.
When this pops up, the "save edits" button is disabled and it prevents you from submitting an edit.
This is despite the fact that if you have 10k reputation or a ♦, you are able to edit these posts. In fact, this can actually show up if you start an edit while the post is already deleted. I had to redo a spam clearance edit on a recently deleted spam post (♦ bypasses the locked status, as well).
- If the user is a ♦, they can edit locked posts, and should not run into this. Either don't disable anything at all, or at least only restrict the disabling to if the deletion happens after the ♦ starts editing.
- For non-♦ users, namely 10k users who normally can edit deleted posts, the banner should be changed to say "This post has been locked - no more edits are allowed". Otherwise, the current banner is inaccurate, to say the least.