Meta Stack Exchange is where users like you discuss bugs, features, and support issues that affect the software powering all 158 Stack Exchange communities.

What is meta?
Here's how it works:
  1. Any Stack Exchange user can ask a question
  2. The community provides support, votes on ideas, and reports bugs
  3. Your voice helps shape the way Stack Exchange operates

The Sportsmanship badge is awarded for voting on 100 answers competing with one's own. The rules are currently that votes count only for questions on which the user has posted a positive-voted answer.

I propose that criteria for the Sportsmanship badge counts votes made for a user who posted the accepted answer. The difference between this and the current rules is that currently the accepted answer is not considered if it does not have a positive score (i.e., has a zero score).

Obviously, the answer that the requestor accepts is not simply an answer posted just for the purpose of cheating the system and earning the badge underhandedly. Accepting an answer is a kind of implicit "vote" (conceptually) that should be considered in the criteria of the aforementioned badge.

EDIT: If you are downvoting this, please comment on why you think this is a bad idea. I think most people glanced over the message and assume I am saying all zero-vote answers should be considered, which is clearly not the case.

EDIT: As with essentially all other badges, users should not be able to cheat by answering their own questions.

share|improve this question
y'know, maybe if you'dve expanded that answer a bit after seeing the competition it would've gotten an up-vote... – Shog9 Jun 5 '11 at 15:30
@Shog9, yes, clearly in my example and clearly sometimes that occurs, but there are frequently answers that do not get votes because they are more precise than earlier answers but are not posted until the popularity of the question dies (i.e., when it is no longer on the front page or two). – Devin Burke Jun 5 '11 at 15:38
So, is your proposal that the votes for competing answers should count when you gave an accepted answer OR a positive-voted answer? – trutheality Jun 5 '11 at 21:49
@trutheality, I modified the request's body to make it more clear, though I am sure it is too late to salvage this post because enough people have downvoted it. – Devin Burke Jun 6 '11 at 3:38

The following loophole was closed in a question edit:

This introduces the following method for getting the badge:

  • Ask a question
  • Upvote answers
  • Answer your question
  • Mark your own answer as correct
  • Repeat
share|improve this answer
we already have accepted-but-not-by-you as a category when calculating, say, Unsung Hero. – Kate Gregory Jun 6 '11 at 11:52
I edited my post for this, but essentially all badges that could be unfairly won using one's own answer have special exceptions. This is more of a detail than an objection. – Devin Burke Jun 6 '11 at 13:15
@Justin Satyr, I did upvote, I just thought this is important to point out. – trutheality Jun 6 '11 at 17:55

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .