I suggest blacklisting qmsconsultants.com. (Warning: Chrome reports malware)

There have been three spamming attempts from different, purely spam accounts in this question. They seem to have been triggered by the "ISO" keyword - starting to wonder if these are automated?

  • 7
    Is there a canonical way of reporting a URL that should be blacklisted?
    – Pekka
    Oct 19 '11 at 10:13
  • As far as I know, Moderator Attention is the way to go (at least I've done this multiple times on SU, I don't know if those were really blacklisted or not). Oct 19 '11 at 10:14
  • 3
    @Asylum - moderators can't add strings to the blacklist, but have to make a request to the developers so posting a question on the relevant site's meta would be the best approach (cut out the middleman!)
    – ChrisF Mod
    Oct 19 '11 at 10:16
  • 4
    I took the liberty to protect the question. It's unlikely to get any new, useful answers from new users anyway, so that should reduce the spam on this specific question. Oct 19 '11 at 10:16
  • @Joachim good point, could have thought of that myself. Thanks
    – Pekka
    Oct 19 '11 at 10:17
  • @ChrisF: Yes, I realized that too while reading Jeffs answer on another question, where he talks about that they want to see a pattern before blacklisting (which would require a post on the Meta...or at least it would be helpful). Oct 19 '11 at 10:17
  • @ChrisF: On the other hand, back then he said a flag would be sufficient...well, better wait for a dev to clear that up. Oct 19 '11 at 10:20
  • @Asylum - well that's a pointless step. All we'd do would be to post a meta question.
    – ChrisF Mod
    Oct 19 '11 at 10:21
  • 1
    @Asylum 3 identical posts by 1-rep spam users is a reasonable pattern
    – Marc Gravell StaffMod
    Oct 19 '11 at 10:23

We have the technology! www.qmsconsultants.com is now blacklisted. We track "hits" on blacklist entries, so we'll see soon enough whether it gets ugly.

(also, the site redirects to moksgale.com, which is also flagged in chrome - but one thing is certain: it is not a direct link to useful content)

  • Would this be worth adding to the blacklist for all sites?
    – ChrisF Mod
    Oct 19 '11 at 10:27
  • What about how to suggest sites for blacklists? Posts on Meta or Flags? Oct 19 '11 at 10:35
  • 2
    @Asylum we don't really want an open free-for-all there; if something is attention-worthy, just flag it for mod attention (although note: only devs can manipulate the blacklist, for sanity reasons)
    – Marc Gravell StaffMod
    Oct 19 '11 at 10:43
  • @MarcGravell, what about that indian web hosting company that's been doing the round on many SE sites recently? Was anything done about that?
    – tombull89
    Oct 19 '11 at 10:54
  • @tombull89: yes. (Or I hope.) I raised the issue with devs after its third round on Maths, and it was then added to the blacklist (though it wasn't specified which blacklist). Oct 19 '11 at 14:07
  • 1
    In truth, we don't (AFAIK) get that much cross-site spam
    – Marc Gravell StaffMod
    Oct 19 '11 at 15:08

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .