Possible Duplicate:
Stack Overflow clones
Is it legal to copy Stack Overflow questions and answers?

Another website spotted that this pulling the StackOverflow content


For the replies, it just pushes users directly to StackOverflow.

So gets the benefits of advertising, and none of the overhead of the searches.


Where do we go from here - is there an official forum to raise this in?

  • Are you aware that SE content is licensed under Creative Commons-BY-SA? Commented Feb 23, 2012 at 14:10
  • It looks like it's aggregating from multiple sources - some of the links go to forums.asp.net. I'm having a hard time finding attribution, though.
    – Rob Hruska
    Commented Feb 23, 2012 at 14:10
  • And that's the wrong duplicate, hold on, I'll get the right one. Commented Feb 23, 2012 at 14:10
  • 1
    I don't see any attribution, though it does link to our actual posts.
    – Zelda
    Commented Feb 23, 2012 at 14:12
  • @BenBrocka - I clicked around for a while and couldn't find any that linked to SO. Some examples might help us so we don't have to click any more than we have to to investigate. I feel dirty clicking around and giving them more ad impressions. :)
    – Rob Hruska
    Commented Feb 23, 2012 at 14:13
  • 1
    The first one you find with a F3 search of "jquery ajax" is an SO question
    – Zelda
    Commented Feb 23, 2012 at 14:15
  • @BenBrocka - Thanks. For the record, here's the url: http://asp.net.bigresource.com/jQuery-AJAX-calling-page-method-How-to-return-value-back-to-jQuery-gKSCPNyJ1.html
    – Rob Hruska
    Commented Feb 23, 2012 at 14:17
  • 1
    Now I got it: Is it legal to copy Stack Overflow questions and answers? Commented Feb 23, 2012 at 14:17
  • 2
    They admit they're crawlers but don't list attribution (it's REALLY easy guys) so I don't believe this is proper use, though they seem to think it is. They have a place where you can mail to get your site excluded though.
    – Zelda
    Commented Feb 23, 2012 at 14:21
  • Per your edit, "is there an official forum to raise this in?" Yes, there is. You already found it. It just so happens that this has been reported before, so your question was closed as a duplicate. Please don't take offense at that. Commented Feb 24, 2012 at 4:16

1 Answer 1


It looks like they aggregate from multiple sources (more than just SO).

Here's an example SO-scraped page:


(thanks, BenBrocka)

According to the other SO question Bobby referred to in the comments, looks like they're violating pretty much everything attribution-wise:

Visually indicate that the content is from Stack Overflow, Meta Stack Overflow, Server Fault, or Super User in some way. It doesn’t have to be obnoxious; a discreet text blurb is fine.


Hyperlink directly to the original question on the source site (e.g., https://stackoverflow.com/questions/12345)

By “directly”, I mean each hyperlink must point directly to our domain in standard HTML visible even with JavaScript disabled, and not use a tinyurl or any other form of obfuscation or redirection. Furthermore, the links must not be nofollowed.

Not a direct hyperlink; redirects through one of their pages.

Show the author names for every question and answer


Hyperlink each author name directly back to their user profile page on the source site (e.g., https://stackoverflow.com/users/12345/username)


Looking at this answer, bigresource.com is already in the list of clones violating the attribution requirements.

  • 1
    This is 6 months old, but I'll comment on it anyway. BigResource is not describable as anything other than a steaming pile of horse feces. It can try to look like SO, or other sites, and rip their questions and their answers, but it will NEVER compare. EVER.
    – Wug
    Commented Aug 31, 2012 at 21:10
  • 1
    At least in Chrome you can use the Personal Blocklist by Google Chrome extension to eliminate bigresource.com. While you're at it, eliminate w3schools.com, too! :)
    – ErikE
    Commented Jul 16, 2013 at 20:22
  • 1
    More than 2 years later bigresource.com is still violating the attribution requirements!
    – ComFreek
    Commented Jul 31, 2014 at 20:50
  • I found a documented procedure for reporting scrapers by accident. Following the rules there, I sent a message to Stack Exchange via the help center. I'll post another comment or answer when SE replies to my message.
    – ComFreek
    Commented Aug 4, 2014 at 15:59
  • I hope I may quote from the kind reply I got: Please note, bringing these sites into compliance (or getting them to no longer serve our content) is often a long and arduous process. You may not see immediate results. However, rest assured that we're working on it.
    – ComFreek
    Commented Aug 5, 2014 at 11:25

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .