I went there quite a few times lately and only got this message:

The website "biostar.stackexchange.com" has been disabled If you are the administrator of this Stack Exchange 1.0 site, please email se1-admin@stackexchange.com with any questions you may have.

  • 6
    You're looking for biostars.org. The site is no longer affiliated with Stack Exchange. – jonsca Jul 25 '12 at 17:28
  • @jonsca Is it possible and/or desired to link to the new, non-affiliated site? – Gaffi Jul 25 '12 at 17:49
  • Thanks for this post. I noticed that the site was plural rather than singular, and I wondered if it was a phishing site. – Andrew Grimm Aug 2 '12 at 0:44

BioStar was a Stack Exchange 1.0 site, back when people could create sites about whatever without the stringent process that exists today. When Stack Exchange 2.0 and Area 51 launched, all Stack Exchange 1.0 sites were given a grace period to decide whether to run through the Area 51 process or to go it alone.

BioStar decided to go it alone, and created their own site. Since they were no longer on the Stack Exchange platform, they lost the biostar.stackexchange.com domain. You can now find them at their new domain, biostars.org.

They were reportedly in contact with Stack Exchange to get a link or a redirect from biostar.stackexchange.com to biostars.org, and that discussion might still be ongoing.

| improve this answer | |
  • is there an (incomplete) list of sites that "went it alone"? SE2 lists its sites but one may be interested in SE1 sites that are no longer in that listing. (like biostar.*) – n611x007 Sep 8 '12 at 11:13

Mark Trapp's answer is correct: Biostar is no longer affiliated with Stack Exchange. As a courtesy, we now redirect http://biostar.stackexchange.com to http://biostars.org.

| improve this answer | |
  • 1
    That seems no longer to be the case. – burger Mar 20 '19 at 22:49

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .