I was trying to add a link to a product (FastReports.NET) to this question: Fast report error

Why am I getting the error "Sorry, posts can't contain that content." in that case?

I found that LMGTFY links are not welcome, but what about other links?

The exact link that I tried to insert was:

BTW: a hint, that the link is the cause for the warning would have been really helpful.

  • 2
    A hint for the cause would make it easy for spammers to circumvent blacklists.
    – Flexo
    Jul 31, 2012 at 9:40
  • @Flexo: yes, but imagine after entering a detailed question (lots of text, code and maybe a link) you simply get the message "sorry, posts can't contain that content"? not helpful...
    – M4N
    Jul 31, 2012 at 12:09
  • So the safe way to insert links is to use a URL shortener like bit.ly
    – M4N
    Aug 2, 2012 at 7:18
  • No, the safe way is to not use products from people who spam or have affiliate programs which encourage spamming. URL shorteners are an abomination.
    – Flexo
    Aug 2, 2012 at 7:19
  • But I still think, that this blacklist-"feature" makes things difficult for normal users, while spammers will easily find ways around it.
    – M4N
    Aug 2, 2012 at 7:24
  • 2
    Spammers tend to get spotted in other ways too. The blacklist is used pretty sparingly in my experience - it takes multiple days worth or large scale spamming to end on it. Personally I wish this: meta.stackexchange.com/questions/29518/… hadn't been declined though.
    – Flexo
    Aug 2, 2012 at 7:27

1 Answer 1


The most likely explanation is that someone spammed that link on SO and it was subsequently blacklisted. The blacklist can be accessed by moderators, but there are no comments or explanations there, so it's probably difficult to find the exact reason for this specific entry.

I did a quick search on meta and in the moderator chat room, but found nothing mentioning FastReports.

  • I found only one answer with such a link, maybe it was flagged as spam and moderator added the site to the list back then? Jul 31, 2012 at 8:52
  • Only an SO mod could tell the number of links in deleted posts, normal users can't search for that. And it has to be an SE employee that added it to the blacklist, moderators can't edit it. Jul 31, 2012 at 8:54
  • 8
    Doing a quick search, I see ~130 deleted spam answers with fast-report.com in the URL, from multiple accounts, so I can see why this might have been blacklisted. Jul 31, 2012 at 14:40
  • Cheers, thanks for clarifying @kiamlaluno :) Jul 31, 2012 at 21:24
  • @ShaWizDowArd If just I didn't repeat what Mad Scientist already said, that would have been better. I am sorry.
    – apaderno
    Jul 31, 2012 at 21:31

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .