10

The new review tool is very neat, but it appears to display items one-by-one, and won't show me a new item until I've definitively made up my mind about the currently displayed one.

Is there a way of viewing a larger number of pending items all at once and picking one, similar to how it used to be with the pending edit requests?

My problem is that many of the items are in subjects which are completely alien to me, and so I don't have any useful or calibrated judgment about what makes an acceptable answer or what's a useful edit. In the past I just used to scan the entire set of pending requests for things I'd recognize and submit my contribution to those.

At the moment, if I feel like reviewing some items and open the tool, I'm presented with one, two, three posts that I know nothing about and give up because I don't feel that I'm able to contribute anything useful. If I could view multiple items at once (say 50?), I could spot the 10 that I understand and deal with them.

6
  • 1
    I've been complaining about this since the beta began. :P
    – animuson StaffMod
    Aug 8, 2012 at 6:22
  • 1
    Why not just click the "Not sure" button? That's what I am doing and it works just fine. Aug 8, 2012 at 6:25
  • 1
    @ShaWizDowArd: Because it's uninteresting and demotivating to sit and click in front of nine posts I have absolutely no understanding about. With a multiview, I could scan and pick out something that jumps out at me, eagle-eye style, without ever needing to engage mentally with things that don't suggest themselves to me.
    – Kerrek SB
    Aug 8, 2012 at 6:34
  • 1
    Well, I do prefer the new way and the dry numbers appear to agree - since the change was deployed on Stack Overflow it's rare to see the edit queue with more than 10 items while before that it was almost full most of the time. Aug 8, 2012 at 6:38
  • @ShaWizDowArd: OK, that's nice. I was merely hoping for an option or so to display more than one item, but of course the default should stay as it is, especially if it gets more work done.
    – Kerrek SB
    Aug 8, 2012 at 6:46
  • Cheers, maybe the efficiency is result of adding the stats page so now it's much more.. competitive. :) Aug 8, 2012 at 7:17

1 Answer 1

6

You are allowed a huge amount of "not sure" votes during review. We do prioritize the review queue by tags that you have marked interesting. We are working on ways to send you review tasks that will better match your skill and engagement.

4
  • I understand that I could say "not sure", but there's a much larger amount of mental engagement involved in processing a single post and making a decision to say "not sure" than there is in scanning over a large list of posts and letting the occasional interesting item pop out at me. Maybe it's best compared to the difference between polling and interrupt?
    – Kerrek SB
    Aug 8, 2012 at 6:36
  • "huge amount"? Do you mean there is a limit? Aug 8, 2012 at 6:39
  • There is no limit at the moment @ShaWizDowArd Aug 8, 2012 at 6:39
  • Question: Do tag edits by juniors trigger an edit review request? I believe I just witnessed someone editing (physically informing me of the fact) but no request showing up in my review queue.
    – Kerrek SB
    Aug 16, 2012 at 12:38

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .