2

I notice that when reviewing posts, when the "Edit" link is clicked, the editing interface that comes up has a "Hide Preview" link. The ordinary editing interface doesn't have it. Why is this, and would it be possible to add a link like this to the ordinary interface?

EDIT: By "ordinary editing interface", I mean the suggested edit interface, or the interface that comes up when a user with less than 2K rep clicks on the "edit" link at the bottom of any question

5
  • Why do you even need to hide the preview in normal editing mode?
    – nhahtdh
    Commented Feb 20, 2013 at 23:33
  • @nhahtdh Sometimes, when editing a ridiculously long post, my computer starts to lag when constantly refreshing the preview pane. It would be great to be able to hide the preview.
    – APerson
    Commented Feb 20, 2013 at 23:34
  • You can simply turn off JavaScript. No preview for you and the edit will be submitted all the same. (If not enable JS again before submitting) Commented Feb 21, 2013 at 0:13
  • Actually the ordinary edit (for 2K+ users) does have the "hide preview" link, it's missing for some reason from the suggested edit interface. Might be a bug, overlooked by the devs. Commented Feb 21, 2013 at 0:16
  • could you tell where is the ordinary editing interface? @ShaWizDowArd your solution is irony...haha lol Commented Feb 21, 2013 at 3:47

2 Answers 2

6

We consider the preview to be somewhat mandatory. We have enough horribly formatted posts already where new users ignore the preview. Condoning or encouraging this is the last thing we want to do.

The only reason that button exists is that when inline editing a post, there may be interesting content below the editor. This is not the case otherwise. And in most cases, inline editing is done by experienced editors anyway.

4

There's already a "hide preview" link when editing, at least for the regular edits:

According to some comments, this is missing when using suggested edits though, or when not using the inline editing for some other reason.

10
  • Actually, the OP has less than 2k rep so he is redirecting to /Edit where hide preview option is not available.
    – Himanshu
    Commented Feb 21, 2013 at 6:27
  • Interesting, one can review with less than 2k?
    – Arjan
    Commented Feb 21, 2013 at 6:28
  • I think he is reviewing first posts/ late answers.
    – Himanshu
    Commented Feb 21, 2013 at 6:29
  • 3
    (As an aside: there's a nice new image upload!)
    – Arjan
    Commented Feb 21, 2013 at 6:32
  • Yep confirmed that the "hide preview" exists only for inline editing. Looks like a simple overlook, can't see any reason to not have it in the edit page as well.. Commented Feb 21, 2013 at 8:19
  • There is no "hide preview" link when reviewing with less than 2K rep, as @hims056 pointed out.
    – APerson
    Commented Feb 21, 2013 at 18:59
  • @APerson241, "There is no "hide preview" link when reviewing with less than 2K rep" -- I assume you mean "when editing"? Or is something missing in my post?
    – Arjan
    Commented Feb 21, 2013 at 19:03
  • @Arjan Whoops, sorry. I meant to say "editing with less than 2K rep".
    – APerson
    Commented Feb 21, 2013 at 19:15
  • But +1 anyway for the freehand circle.
    – APerson
    Commented Feb 21, 2013 at 19:15
  • (No need to accept this, assuming you're still feature requesting this, @APerson241.)
    – Arjan
    Commented Feb 21, 2013 at 19:27

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .