3

This question on The Workplace was recently deleted.

Interestingly, it shows as

deleted by Community♦ 15 mins ago

In searching Meta.Stackoverflow, I have been unable to determine what this actually represents.

I suspect it is related to the question having been

migrated from programmers.stackexchange.com Feb 16 at 10:22

The reason I ask is I had what I thought was a good answer there and found it was deleted after tracking down some missing reputation.


The following was the sequence:

  1. Question successfully migrated (over a month ago)
  2. Question closed (a few days later, shows who closed it)
  3. Question deleted today (well over 1 month after migration/closure, by "community")
7
  • 1
    I think this might be a duplicate: meta.stackexchange.com/questions/170974/… though I can't see the actual question you've linked to.
    – Bart
    Commented Mar 23, 2013 at 13:33
  • @Bart I believe it is a related issue, however that is talking about answers which are posted prior to migration and not the question itself being deleted
    – enderland
    Commented Mar 23, 2013 at 13:36
  • 1
    Yes, but I think the scenario is similar. A rejected migration causes the Community user to take the responsibility for the deletion of all affected posts. I'm 99% certain that's what happened here. Maybe there is a nicer dupe...let's have a look.
    – Bart
    Commented Mar 23, 2013 at 13:37
  • @Bart Well, it was a successful migration, so that doesn't seem to apply.
    – enderland
    Commented Mar 23, 2013 at 13:39
  • The migration message will appear upon migration, afaik. It then still can be rejected and be sent back to the site it came from.
    – Bart
    Commented Mar 23, 2013 at 13:40
  • 2
    @enderland It's not counted as a successful migration if the answer was closed when brought to the migrated site: meta.stackexchange.com/a/138460/168352
    – Hannele
    Commented Mar 23, 2013 at 13:42
  • text cache - it got closed on Workplace => failed migration.
    – Mat
    Commented Mar 23, 2013 at 13:43

1 Answer 1

7

When a migrated question gets closed on the target site it means the migration failed, as explained here.

This means that the community user will end up deleting it, as fully explained by Shog9 here.

As animuson commented, if the question was migrated for duplicate or off-topic belongs on, they are exempt from this process.

As Sathya commented, migration stubs like this are deleted after 30 days.

12
  • I guess I don't understand how the question is closed (which shows users who voted to close) and then deleted (which does not show users who voted to delete)
    – enderland
    Commented Mar 23, 2013 at 13:47
  • @enderland - Automated process. I don't know how often the job runs, but that's what it is.
    – Oded
    Commented Mar 23, 2013 at 13:48
  • "automated process" meaning closed migrated questions are automatically deleted? Or what?
    – enderland
    Commented Mar 23, 2013 at 13:49
  • 2
    @enderland - Yes. Exactly that. A question gets migrated - the target community closes it, meaning it shouldn't have been migrated (failed migration). An automated process then deletes it, as it shouldn't have been migrated in the first place.
    – Oded
    Commented Mar 23, 2013 at 13:50
  • @Oded In this case, would you happen to know if the question is returned to its source site? Or is it simply gone altogether?
    – Bart
    Commented Mar 23, 2013 at 13:51
  • @Bart - This particular question was deleted by a Mod on the source site. I suspect that if it were not, it would have been restored.
    – Oded
    Commented Mar 23, 2013 at 13:51
  • Ah, okay. Thanks for the info.
    – Bart
    Commented Mar 23, 2013 at 13:52
  • @Oded what about duplicates?
    – enderland
    Commented Mar 23, 2013 at 13:53
  • 1
    @enderland: A migration rejection only occurs for questions which get closed for any reason other than duplicate or off-topic belongs on, so closing as a duplicate would not reject the migration and thus not cause an automated deletion on the target site (it would be automatically deleted on the original site instead).
    – animuson StaffMod
    Commented Mar 23, 2013 at 14:18
  • Migration stubs are deleted after 30 days.. Commented Mar 23, 2013 at 14:28
  • "This particular question was deleted by a Mod on the source site" - I applaud your use of capitalization, not all mods are Mods ;)
    – yannis
    Commented Mar 23, 2013 at 19:37
  • @Yannis - I was wondering if anyone would notice. A Mod did ;)
    – Oded
    Commented Mar 23, 2013 at 19:46

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .