5

I am unable to view some questions that have been migrated away and subsequently deleted. I'm talking about the stub left behind by migration, which is automatically deleted after 30 days. I do have the privilege to view deleted posts. For example, on Science Fiction & Fantasy:

This doesn't seem to be related to my having initiated the migration: I can view 1 (migrated by DampeS8N, deleted by me) and 2 (migrated by me, deleted by Community) but cannot view 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, …

Kevin remarks that the posts I can't view as a 10k user visible to mods, and indicated as “deleted” with no other indication. I can view the posts that are marked as “deleted by <user>” (whether the user is Community or a real user).

I was able to reproduce the issue on Unix & Linux where I have the 10k privileges but have never been a mod: I get the “something bad happened” page for U-1, U-2, U-3, … but I see the deleted stub for U+1, U+2, U+3, … I also get the error page for SO1, … On SO the threshold date is: migrated 2012-11-01 21:10 ok, migrated 2012-11-01 20:38oops.

So it seems that older migrations, before 2012-11-01, that were automatically deleted, left a stub that triggers a server-side error when viewed by 10k non-mods.

migrated from meta.scifi.stackexchange.com May 12 '13 at 14:51

This question came from our discussion, support, and feature requests site for science fiction and fantasy enthusiasts.

4

Very old questions migrated and auto-deleted are marked simply as "deleted," without specifying who deleted them. Then some time between Nov 10, 2012 and Jan 12, 2013, automatically deleted migrations began being attributed as "deleted by Community♦". You (and any 10k) can see questions marked as deleted by a user (including Community♦) whether before or after this date. However, all 10k non-mods see an error page when trying to view any unattributed deletion (I confirmed on Unix.SE).

This is clearly a bug.

  • I looked on U&L too, and found that the earliest migrated stub I can see is unix.stackexchange.com/questions/53515/…. Given that U&L migrates out fairly often this should give a precise indication of the threshold date. – Gilles May 12 '13 at 14:50
1

Gilles, I am able to view both of your bullet pointed examples, and every other one you list.

Looking at the revisions here is the order of operations:

  1. Closed (DampeS8N), Locked (Community♦), Migrated (DampeS8N), Deleted (Gilles).
  2. Closed (other users, Gilles), Migrated (other users, Gilles), Locked (Community♦), Deleted (Community♦).
  3. Closed (Gilles), Locked(Community♦), Migrated (Gilles)
  4. Closed(other users, Gilles), Locked (Community♦), Migrated(other users Gilles)
  5. Closed(other users, Gilles), Migrated (other users, Gilles), Locked (Community♦)
  6. Closed (Gilles), Migrated (Gilles), Locked (Community♦)
  7. Closed (Moderator), Migrated (Moderator), Locked (Community♦)

There's a clear pattern that seems to suggest that if it isn't explicitly deleted, it might be come invisible to high-rep non-mods.

Beyond that I don't know any more.

Beyond the above conclusion, I have to ask, do you know which of these came before/after you were de-modded? It might be that you shouldn't be able to see 1,2 instead of the other way round, but you can as those were mod-closes, not VtC closes.

Alternatively, like Kevin says below:

[It] definitely appears to be that you can see mod-deleted and those marked "deleted by Community♦" but not auto-deleted ones just marked "deleted" without attribution.

  • Thanks for the feedback. 2 was deleted by Community. Do you see a pattern in the way I've interacted with the question? It could be a specific bug that only affects former mods… – Gilles May 12 '13 at 13:23
  • I will have to go back and check later, but I believe that they were all community locked/deleted. I didn't see any other patterns pertaining to you. But like I said I will be back later to check – Pureferret May 12 '13 at 13:26
  • 1
    @Gilles definitely appears to be that you can see mod-deleted and those marked "deleted by Community♦" but not auto-deleted ones just marked "deleted" without attribution. – Kevin May 12 '13 at 14:07

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .