31

I (and probably many other people) have accidentally clicked the wrong button in reviews. For example, I just clicked the Leave Open button when I wanted to click Close. I think many people have done this. I think an ability to undo this would be appreciated.

18
  • 8
    What about not making a mistake in the first place? If you want to, I can write a user script for you which delays the click handler for 5 seconds after clicking.
    – Rob W
    Jun 28, 2013 at 20:55
  • 15
    @RobW Humans are humans: they WILL make mistakes. And sure, that could work if you can cancel it. Jun 28, 2013 at 21:19
  • Then you're going to cancel the delay, and we're back at the initial problem, right?
    – Rob W
    Jun 28, 2013 at 21:24
  • 1
    @RobW waiting 5 sec after each click will really slow down the review process, which causes less reviews per day...
    – Wouter J
    Jun 28, 2013 at 21:26
  • 4
    @WouterJ There's a limit on purpose. Jun 28, 2013 at 21:26
  • @RobW What I mean is that it's useless if you can't cancel the click event. Jun 28, 2013 at 21:26
  • @WouterJ It was an arbitrary low number grabbed from the thin air. If it's smaller, say 2, then one doesn't have enough time to undo the choice.
    – Rob W
    Jun 28, 2013 at 21:27
  • @newStackExchangeInstance Ah, so you're fine with being forced to wait for 5 seconds? During this period, you'll get the opportunity to cancel your choice.
    – Rob W
    Jun 28, 2013 at 21:27
  • @RobW I'd be fine with it if I could cancel the click. Jun 28, 2013 at 21:28
  • @RobW and that's why delaying an action to not make an error is a bad idea imo. Humans make errors, slowing down each review just for that 1/1000 change of making an error is not a good idea...
    – Wouter J
    Jun 28, 2013 at 21:29
  • 4
    @WouterJ I would disagree with 1/1000. I've done about ~700 reviews, and I've easily made two or three errors. Jun 28, 2013 at 21:30
  • @newStackExchangeInstance Two or three errors on 700 is not much (though personally I have never made a mistake, I only review "Suggested edits" though, and sometimes a close vote - with full attention).
    – Rob W
    Jun 28, 2013 at 21:31
  • @RobW I pay attention, it's more of a misclick (my mouse DPI is 5.7K) Jun 28, 2013 at 21:32
  • 3
    @Shog9 Why declined? I kind of suspected that it would be, but could we have an official explanation?
    – Undo
    Jun 30, 2013 at 23:38
  • 2
    It's probably also worth noting that you can still go back and vote to close a question after hitting "leave open" (same for delete, flag, etc). While this won't be reflected in your review, it's a good option if you really screwed up.
    – Shog9
    Jun 30, 2013 at 23:59

2 Answers 2

13

Destructive actions (close, delete, flag) already have a confirmation that you'll need to click through before proceeding. Editing requires you to actually make changes before submitting. This leaves various "it's ok" responses. While it's certainly unfortunate if you click these when there's an actual problem with the post, it's not exactly critical that you be able to change this response either; if there's a problem, someone else will catch it eventually.

Note that "undo" is tricky in all cases, even the relatively benign "do nothing" ones: if the review has completed, and particularly if significant time has passed since it completed, changing your response may not be possible.

I think the cost of this outweighs the advantages at this point.

1
  • Maybe a cooldown for undoing would be nice. I accidentally put a new question as "looks ok" in the first question review queue.
    – Blue Robin
    Mar 9, 2023 at 4:35
6
+50

We could have a button next to the post in the activity->reviews listing in the user profile. It would need to exist depending on the queue type, and the status of the post.

  • Closed Votes - If closed then no button.
  • Suggested Edit - If edit has already been a approved then no button.
  • First Posts - If approved then no button.
  • Late Answers - If approved then no button.
  • Low Quality Posts - If approved or deleted then no button.
  • Reopen Votes - If reopened then no button.

Note, that I'm not sure of the complete workflow for the First, Late and Low queues, i.e. whether it takes multiple users to take them out of the queue or not.

If any of these have been completed so that the button doesn't exist, then they can click on the post link and maybe do something (though they would have already used their close/reopen votes in those queues).

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .