Even to 10K users!
What happened to it?
I thought questions do not really get deleted, but just put in a state where >10K users can see them.
Is this something new?
A merge operation was requested for that question in May 2010 (see Can we undelete and/or merge following questions?).
Merging may very well hard-delete the original, since all the information deemed useful arguably becomes available in the merged question.