8

Is it a known good practice to use a big try-catch per method in java?

Two other people (count says 3, but that includes me) voted to close it as primarily opinion based. Why does this question not fall under this category?

11
  • 3
    Did they vote to close it before or after you reviewed it?
    – Servy
    Sep 19, 2013 at 16:33
  • 2
    The Reopen audits selection criteria are supposed to filter questions that are controversial by not considering posts have downvotes or close votes. I find it odd that the close vote queue wouldn't consider that. Sep 19, 2013 at 16:34
  • @psubsee2003 I assume you meant not controversial. And see my previous comment, if the close votes were after the review, the system wouldn't consider it controversial at the time it was an audit.
    – Servy
    Sep 19, 2013 at 16:34
  • @psubsee2003 It was actually a First Posts audit.
    – animuson StaffMod
    Sep 19, 2013 at 16:35
  • @Servy no I meant filter out controversial post (by not including them as audits) Sep 19, 2013 at 16:35
  • @animuson sorry, assumed it was a close vote audit. But the idea is still the same- if it is controversial should be included? Sep 19, 2013 at 16:37
  • @psubsee2003 Once again, if the votes to close were after the review then it may not have had any close votes or downvotes at the time it was selected to be an audit.
    – Servy
    Sep 19, 2013 at 16:38
  • 3
    @Servy There were three vote to close on the post before the audit was created, and also one that was retracted.
    – animuson StaffMod
    Sep 19, 2013 at 16:40
  • @Servy before I reviewed it
    – SheetJS
    Sep 19, 2013 at 17:21
  • 1
    @MartijnPieters The answers weren't in the audit, the question was.
    – Servy
    Sep 19, 2013 at 17:22
  • @Servy: Oops, it was the 'first posts' audit and a distraction that threw me. Sep 19, 2013 at 17:23

1 Answer 1

5

Sorry about that; while I think this could make for an interesting question with some tweaking (perhaps on Programmers? it wasn't a very good example for an audit.

This is simply a case where the system did a bad job of picking a "known good" question - demonstrating once again that popularity isn't everything.

1
  • 2
    In fact most popular questions are now off-topic. Oct 28, 2013 at 9:19

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .