Today I got an E-Mail from nukson.com about their new site. They claim to get my E-Mail ID from github. Then, I visited the site and found it a copy of stackoverflow.

So my question is: Is this site is a part of stackexchange or who owns it?

  • 2
    There are loads of copies of stack overflow, some legitimate, some without attribution – Richard Tingle Oct 3 '13 at 7:44
  • @RichardTingle: I don't think that it scrapped content. – Time Traveling Bobby Oct 3 '13 at 7:46
  • @M.NightDemonbobby I was taking VarunAgw's word for it to an extent what the site actually is, clicking on links to dodgy websites isn't high on my priorities for the day – Richard Tingle Oct 3 '13 at 7:47
  • 5
    nukson.com has no affiliation with Stack Exchange, and is not one of our sites. It appears to be a Q&A site for PHP programmers that (obviously) wants more users. – Tim Post Oct 3 '13 at 7:48
  • @TimPost: Can you give me a hand? It seems like it scraps content, but it's...different: On nukson.com and on Stack Overflow. It looks like they're copying content by hand... – Time Traveling Bobby Oct 3 '13 at 7:50
  • 1
    @M.NightDemonbobby They do appear to be rewriting some content, but not the code snippets, this is getting sort of interesting. – Tim Post Oct 3 '13 at 7:52
  • Yeah, I broke and had a look and found the same thing, content that says the same thing but in a slightly different way to stack overflow – Richard Tingle Oct 3 '13 at 7:52
  • 4
    Brought this to the attention of our scraper department, even though they don't technically appear to be scraping, unless you count short snippets of code. I don't think there's anything actionable here, but I have made folks on our team aware of it. – Tim Post Oct 3 '13 at 7:55
  • 3
    @TimPost: It looks like their mod is copying questions from Stack Overflow to get a higher search ranking or populate the site with questions or something. Pretty interesting, that's kinda new (compared to the 1:1 bot scrapers). – Time Traveling Bobby Oct 3 '13 at 7:57
  • 1
    stealing content, doesn't seem very moderatory, we need to send an email to..... O yeah, right – Richard Tingle Oct 3 '13 at 8:01
  • 1
    @RichardTingle: "Stealing" is not correct, "violating copyright/license" is. – Time Traveling Bobby Oct 3 '13 at 8:02
  • 3
    Apparently there anyone can accept answers, no need of OP. The reputation history of the mod is an interesting read. Daniel Nelson accepted Eric Johnson answer on Dennis Peters question Clearing APC cache entries – Krishnabhadra Oct 3 '13 at 8:07
  • 4
    @Krishnabhadra That's actually the utility of these near copies of our engine. They try stuff that we probably wouldn't, albeit on a smaller scale, and we get to eat popcorn and watch how it goes. – Tim Post Oct 3 '13 at 8:09
  • 2
    "Nukson the world's #1 question and answer PHP community" PHP is doomed – Richard Tingle Oct 3 '13 at 8:12
  • 4
    Also, pro tip: if the page takes that long to load, it's not a Stack Exchange site. – nhinkle Oct 4 '13 at 2:33

Then, I visited the site and found it a copy of stackoverflow.

Not, it's not a copy. As it seems some users/mods are copying questions (maybe even answers) from Stack Overflow to populate the site with content and/or to get better searchmachine rankings, but most of the questions seem genuine. Tim Post already notified the appropriate department of Stack Exchange and they're looking into it.

So my question is: Is this site is a part of stackexchange or who owns it?

Partial whois output of the domain:

Domain Name: NUKSON.COM
Registrar URL: http://www.godaddy.com
Updated Date: 2013-03-16 16:42:21
Creation Date: 2012-03-20 20:53:21
Registrar Expiration Date: 2014-03-20 20:53:21
Registrar: GoDaddy.com, LLC
Registrant Name: Miguel Angelo
Name Server: NS1.NUKSON.COM
Name Server: NS2.NUKSON.COM

So no, not affiliated with Stack Exchange. They also run on a completely different system, despite that they removed all notices about the underlying engine, I'm 99% sure that they run on OSQA.

  • It looks similar to stackoverflow site. How? Is it something like iframe? – Praveen Oct 3 '13 at 7:48
  • @user1671639 No, they just duplicated some of our features and styles. There are many 'clones' of Stack Overflow that you can run on your own server. Look up OSQA, Question2answer, etc. – Tim Post Oct 3 '13 at 7:50
  • @TimPost OSQA, Question2answer, etc never know that site like SE exists.. – user219322 Oct 3 '13 at 7:53
  • I'm lazy. What's Miguel's address? – Cole Johnson Oct 4 '13 at 2:07
  • Also, I am not lazy. I already checked the whois of the domain before posting here. I just want to confirm this. So, I posted it here. – user219322 Oct 4 '13 at 8:34
  • @VarunAgw: Who said that I meant you? – Time Traveling Bobby Oct 4 '13 at 8:42
  • Your words. >>Partial whois output for the curious and lazy. So, who is curious but lazy according to you? – user219322 Oct 4 '13 at 8:47
  • 2
    @VarunAgw: Everyone who does not want to run whois themselves. – Time Traveling Bobby Oct 4 '13 at 8:50
  • 4
    @VarunAgw I think it was a light hearted joke not directed at anyone in particular. Clearly it was not well received – Richard Tingle Oct 4 '13 at 10:49

You must log in to answer this question.