This answer of mine hit 100 upvotes two days ago, but I haven't received a gold badge for it yet. What gives? Gold badges are all I have to live for, now that my goal of passing Jon Skeet is a wee bit out of reach.

And do not tell me "we don't need no steenking badges".

  • 3
    You did, but you're in debt. Don't fear the reaper.
    – random
    Sep 24, 2009 at 16:20
  • You want a badge for that answer -- apparently both reputation and badges are meaningless.
    – tvanfosson
    Sep 24, 2009 at 17:45
  • 4
    @tvanfosson: hey, the rules are the rules. Most Great Answer golds are dished out for some pretty unimpressive posts, IMHO. Sep 24, 2009 at 18:23
  • @MusiGenesis there is no answer in the link. there is no question. Aug 10 at 16:25

2 Answers 2


I only see two +100 answers in your stats, and yet you have three "Great Answer" badges. It seems likely that some of your previous "Great Answers" were migrated or deleted, and until you have more than three "live" +100 answers on the site, you aren't going to get another badge.

Sorry. If it's any consolation, I am in the same boat with "Good Answer" and "Nice Answer", thanks to my (in)famous poll which was migrated here.

  • @Adam: two of my (current) golds are "populist", and two of the remaining 3 were for questions migrated to meta. I didn't see anything posted anywhere about golds not being awarded if you'd already received a gold for another different question that was removed. Now I'm stuck at 5? I can't even show my face on page 3. Sep 24, 2009 at 16:22
  • 1
    I'm on page 2 with only one gold. (But I'm way ahead of you on silvers and bronzes.)
    – mmyers
    Sep 24, 2009 at 16:29

According to your profile you have 3 great answer golds. However, looking at your answers, you have (now) 2 answers with 100+ net upvotes. Likely you had 2 other answers that had 100+ net upvotes, but they were on questions that have since been migrated here to meta (Jon Skeet facts and how to get over 200 rep). The system doesn't remove these badges when the question migrates, but the system does correct this as you "earn" more, you only earn replacements first, until you've replaced all the ones that were lost.

Jeff has stated this behavior here.

  • Is this principle actually stated anywhere? Sep 24, 2009 at 16:23
  • 1
    @MusiGenesis: I can't find where Jeff described it, but yes it is, somewhere... Rest assured, yshuditelu and I are describing the situation truthfully and accurately. Sep 24, 2009 at 16:27
  • @Adam: I didn't mean to imply that you or yshuditelu were untruthful or inaccurate. Sep 24, 2009 at 17:44

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .