1

I noticed that I am more than 70% of time the first one to review questions in the close votes review queue (CVRQ) on SO. I don't think it was because of reputation, since there was no good number at the time. Around that time I received the Marshal badge. Before that I was practically never the first to review. Is this the reason I'm now the first one?

Some more information: I usually review [javascript] or completely without filter and skip 5%-20% of the questions. This changed in the time from Aug 29 to Sep 7. The time span is so large because I didn't review anything in this time.

Why did it change? Does it change anything? I would think that if I vote to Leave open as the first reviewer so that the question is moved to the back of the queue, but this doesn't seem to be true.

10
  • 2
    What does the Marshal badge have to do with reviewing? You raised 500 helpful flags, but that doesn't say anything about you being first to raise a flag. Oct 15, 2014 at 10:44
  • Yes, I know, but I don't see another reason why this would change.
    – Artjom B.
    Oct 15, 2014 at 10:49
  • Or it could be that the queue has changed to prioritise new posts added. That way everyone is presented fresh unreviewed posts first.. Oct 15, 2014 at 10:52
  • @MartijnPieters badge was awarded on Aug 29, recent features list shows nothing related around that date. FWIW I am most often 3rd-5th to review, but this may be because of my habits (filtering too-broad and skipping everything but blatantly bad stuff and audits)
    – gnat
    Oct 15, 2014 at 11:29
  • @gnat: I still fail to see any correlation here. Just because the OP managed to accumulate 500 helpful flags over time? Oct 15, 2014 at 11:30
  • @MartijnPieters I also find such a correlation hard to believe. More likely there was some unannounced change in sort order or some substantial change in habits of active reviewers, or in the distribution of questions in the queue. Of changes I noticed recently, it sits mostly under 10K, and there seem to be more older questions in there than month or 2 or 3 ago. This stuff is fuzzy...
    – gnat
    Oct 15, 2014 at 11:35
  • @gnat: exactly; I was alluding to the fuzzing post, mostly. I was mostly puzzled as to how the OP drew the correlation here. Oct 15, 2014 at 11:46
  • 1
    In other words, this is asking what the logic is that decides the question you see in the CVRC? Oct 15, 2014 at 11:57
  • it would help to understand things if you edit the question to describe your filtering options and skipping habits and whether you changed them at around end August - beginning of September
    – gnat
    Oct 15, 2014 at 12:01
  • @ben Yes, this would be the general question. I'm sure there exists already a post which answers this, but I didn't find it. Right, now I'm more interested in the change.
    – Artjom B.
    Oct 15, 2014 at 12:13

0

You must log in to answer this question.

Browse other questions tagged .