24

I recently found out about keyboard shortcuts, they're truly awesome!

One place I often visit, but has no shortcut yet, is the review menu. I'd suggest adding this by pressing g (go to...) + r (review). I bet the few clicks it saves us really adds up over time.

Edit:

After hitting 2k rep on SO, I am reviewing a lot more than before, as I'm going for the Copy Editor badge.

This shortcut would definitely improve the experience for myself & other reviewers.

2nd Bounty:

After getting the Copy Editor badge, this is still a much needed feature. Let us tweak 'em keyboard shortcuts!

6
  • Aren't keyboard shortcuts for frequently used things? Or things which are otherwise troublesome to navigate to.
    – James
    Jun 22, 2015 at 1:11
  • Define frequently used. I for sure use reviews frequently.
    – davegson
    Jun 22, 2015 at 7:15
  • The review link is right at the top of every single page, and is only one click, so didn't think it worthwhile really. With reviews for Help and support, triage, and usually suggested edits I usually manage to reach my daily review cap on one, sometimes two, visits. But fair enough if you do use it frequently, fair play - we're all different (hence no downvote).
    – James
    Jun 22, 2015 at 12:43
  • The profile is also a shortcut and on top of every page. But ye, everyone has its own taste, we'll see what the others have to say ;)
    – davegson
    Jun 22, 2015 at 12:47
  • 1
    You know what, 16 others like it, no-one has not (no dvote), and I can see this being useful for many users, and if it gets people reviewing even a bit more then why not. You convinced me :) +1
    – James
    Jun 22, 2015 at 12:51
  • Great, appreciate it! :)
    – davegson
    Jun 22, 2015 at 13:20

2 Answers 2

11
+100

As a regular reviewer, I agree that this would be a very useful shortcut to have, and I think it should be added to the standard shortcut functionality on Stack Exchange sites.

In the meantime, I've written a userscript (direct link/source) that adds this shortcut to all sites where you have the ability to review posts.

7
  • Does it work on beta sites? Mar 19, 2015 at 3:05
  • @FollowMyProposals I don't have review privileges on any beta sites, but it definitely should.
    – AstroCB
    Mar 19, 2015 at 3:06
  • Cool! So you press g and r at the same time? Do you need to press control or anything? Mar 19, 2015 at 3:12
  • Nope; you just have to press "g" and then "r" (you don't have to press them at the same time).
    – AstroCB
    Mar 19, 2015 at 3:17
  • OK. I tried it. It didn't work on ELL SE. Mar 19, 2015 at 3:19
  • @FollowMyProposals I've posted an updated version of the script that should handle the buttons better; see if it works for you.
    – AstroCB
    Mar 19, 2015 at 3:43
  • 2
    Thanks for the script! It will suffice for now :) Though I hope to see the official shortcut in the near future.
    – davegson
    Mar 19, 2015 at 12:32
0

AstroCB's user script is great! Should implied soon but...

Pressing g then r might be weird as shortcuts usually use the Shift button. I recommend using Shift then r. Just make sure you're not typing or you go directly to the review queues... This would help users get used to the shortcut quicker. There aren't many shortcuts that doesn't use Shift anyways.

This would be a lovely application in the future. In some betas whereas users battle to keep their spots in the leaderboards and most importantly, review what needs to be review, this can help save time! This can also help high-traffic sites to finish those awaiting reviews as fast as possible. You should know about the growing Close Votes in Stack Overflow...

For the better future of all reviewers, I say the official shortcut should be launched!

1
  • The shortcuts aren't activated while writing. They only trigger when not focused on an input field. The same complication would happen when going to the homepage via g + h etc...
    – davegson
    Jun 18, 2015 at 22:33

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .