0

When one has to merge two accounts, they're prompted by something like this with input fields for each account link:

Account 1:

Account 1 link.

Account 2:

Account 2 link.

When the merge completes, which account details are preserved, like the display name, or the profile description? Account 1, or account 2?

  • The oldest account will be chosen as the "master". – Oded Oct 2 '15 at 15:58
  • @Oded Is there a way to change that? I'd prefer the newer account to be the "master". – Ethan Bierlein Oct 2 '15 at 15:59
  • No, not really. And why does it matter? You can always update the display name and about me once the merge has gone through. – Oded Oct 2 '15 at 16:00
  • @Oded Actually, I have another question. Does it preserve login data, like emails associated with the account, or are those overwritten when the merge occurs? – Ethan Bierlein Oct 2 '15 at 18:47
  • They get... merged. In other words, they are not lost. – Oded Oct 2 '15 at 19:13
2

When you attempt to merge accounts, the system will always select the account with the lower user ID to be the base user, because that is the older account.

We frequently tell people not to worry about this, because it really doesn't matter at all. The only thing that might be different is the public info such as display name and bio, but you can very easily change this. If you're concerned, you can also just copy these details so that they're the same on both profiles before you complete the merge (remember display names are not unique).

Past that, all your credentials, posts, comments, and everything else end up under one account, so there's nothing else attached to a particular account that really requires merging into a specific profile over another.

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .