I dupehammered Right way to add cronjob-threading functionality to Tomcat webapp with gold badge. Then OP complained and edited the question into a too broad recommendation request. While still a bad question, it technically isn't a dupe anymore. So I wanted to remove the dupe vote so it could be reclosed as offtopic / too broad. It's after all also not a JSF question, so I replaced the by first and then voted to reopen. However, in spite of that I also have a gold badge, I got a message in a blue popup balloon with two or three sentences which boils down to something like below (sorry, missed the opportunity to make a screenshot and I can't find the exact message anywhere here):

Sorry, we can't single-handedly reopen it as you participated in removing the tag.

How does that make sense? Must I in the future remember to reopen before editing tags?

  • I know it's not a bug - definitely status-bydesign because the same person can't close and reopen the same question. – angussidney Nov 9 '15 at 11:21
  • 5
    @angussidney: I've done it several times before (when I didn't change tags), hence this Q. – BalusC Nov 9 '15 at 11:25
  • 5
    @IlmariKaronen: I'm sure. That part does in turn make sense, but it would show up during close only, not during reopen. As of now, it doesn't show during close btw. – BalusC Nov 9 '15 at 11:48
  • 1
    The disallowing of editing one of your gold tags in so that you can close the question has been baked into the hammer from the start, @IlmariKaronen: only the initial version of the post counts for this purpose. This does appear to be a different problem. – jscs Nov 10 '15 at 18:59
  • @JoshCaswell: Ah, good point. Please ignore my (now deleted) comment. – Ilmari Karonen Nov 10 '15 at 19:26
  • 5
    @JoshCaswell This has changed, now the dupehammer is based on current tags, but if you've edited the tags, your close vote is an ordinary vote. Which is a bit silly if you've edited the tags only to, say, remove one where you had a gold badge and add another one where you also had a gold badge. (It works symmetrically for closure and reopening, by the way.) – Gilles 'SO- stop being evil' Nov 15 '15 at 20:02
  • Ah, good to know, @Gilles, thanks. – jscs Nov 15 '15 at 21:13
  • 1
    @IlmariKaronen, Gilles just made me aware that the behavior has changed; I don't remember anymore what your comment said, but it might be relevant again. – jscs Nov 15 '15 at 21:14
  • 3
    screenshot – Shadow Wizard Wearing Mask Nov 18 '15 at 14:24
  • @Shadow: Thank you for the screenshot! I only remember a slight different message (or they changed it in the meanwhile without notifying here), but yes, it boils down to that message. – BalusC Nov 18 '15 at 14:27
  • Yeah, it kept changing for a while. Cheers! :) – Shadow Wizard Wearing Mask Nov 18 '15 at 14:31

This is one of those situations where I'm not sure the system can be smarter than the user.

The rules are:

  1. There has to be a tag on the post currently in which you have a gold badge
  2. You can't have been the first person to add that tag to the post (or have participated in adding it the first time)

Well, wasn't on there anymore, and you did add the tag. So the system blocked you. As you noted, the only alternative would've been to reopen first and then edit.

A clever system might notice that you'd previously hammered the post closed and dug further to see if you'd removed the relevant tag yourself (or even just always allow single-handed reopening in cases where you'd previously single-handedly-closed); feel free to propose something like that as a feature, but I think we could only special-case this for reopening - there's too much potential for error and shenanigans if we try to divine intent for tag edits in the general case.

| improve this answer | |
  • And if you start thinking about corner cases first, before implementing rules, here’s some food for thought: what if a gold badge holder single-handedly closes a question, but loses the gold badge after that and now wants to revert the closing. Should they be allowed to do that in this special case? – Holger Jul 3 '19 at 14:53

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .