20

I noticed something strange in the reputation of one of my accounts today:

Never saw "reverted" event before, so went to one of the suggested edits and realized what happened: the user who approved my suggested edit has been removed/deleted their account.

The edit is still there. The post is still there. The effort spent in editing is still there, untouched. I really can't see any reason to take the reputation away in such a case.

Can this please be changed so that the reputation won't be lost? Personally I don't care that much, and got lots of reputation from other sources, but many people have low reputation and each point matters to them.

P.S.

This might be a bug introduced when implementing this recent change about "Could authors overturn recent community review decisions?", so tagging as a bug too.

  • I just added a similar "tracker" to your post, via an edit I suggested ... just in case ... – Pierre.Vriens May 16 '17 at 15:50
  • 2
    The rep loss looks like status-by-bad-design - in fact it was marked such twice. But phrasing it as "reverted" is definitely a new bug. – user315433 May 16 '17 at 16:51
  • @Pierre.Vriens your edit was approved by two, so don't think what described here can happen to you. :) – ShaWiz May 16 '17 at 19:51
  • @ShadowWizard Are you sure? interested in some kind of bet? Or is this just some challenge? – Pierre.Vriens May 16 '17 at 19:53
  • @Pierre.Vriens yes, see the answer from animuson on the question Gerry linked to, this happens only when low rep user deletes their account and were the approvers of the edit. – ShaWiz May 16 '17 at 20:08
  • @Gerry huh, totally forgot about that. This changes things, though not sure how to edit the question now. The actual bug is the reputation removed twice, when I think about it, but I'm afraid many of the votes here are on the feature request part (which will be declined for the reasons in the official answer on that other question), so I feel it won't be fair to just remove it. Will think what to do... – ShaWiz May 16 '17 at 20:09
  • These didn't use to show as reverted, but as removed (and grouped together with the rest of the removed evebts) before that new feature rolled out. The revert message seems to always take precedence over everything else, which is a little annoying. Gonna have to change the logic there. – animuson May 17 '17 at 5:30
  • 1
    Thanks @animuson, looking forward to this change of logic. – ShaWiz May 17 '17 at 7:30

You must log in to answer this question.

Browse other questions tagged .