1

This question already has an answer here:

If a person deletes their Stack Overflow account, what will happen to questions and answers posted by them?

marked as duplicate by Jason C, PolyGeo, Monica Cellio, Peter Mortensen, DavidPostill Jun 5 '17 at 22:20

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

2

Nothing.

They will remain on the site, though without being attached to the name anymore (i.e. - they will be anonymised).

The could still get upvotes and downvotes as usual, though no one would gain or lose reputation from those votes.

  • Aha so if the person for instance deleted a question before deleting their account. 10k+ users would see deleted by 'anonymous', pardon me but I am a bit curious... – Omar Hossam Ahmed Jun 5 '17 at 21:10
  • Yes you are correct. I have edited it, thank you. – Omar Hossam Ahmed Jun 5 '17 at 21:14
  • @OmarHossamAhmed Generally, when a user is deleted, the username defaults to the userXXXX format... but it's greyed out and not linked to any other content. Example here: parenting.stackexchange.com/questions/30319/… So a 10K user in that case would see the same thing, "userXXXX". Generally, if the post is deleted, the username still links to their account page, though. – Catija Jun 5 '17 at 21:18
  • @OmarHossamAhmed Please don't delete questions or answers before you delete your account that type of behavior isn't encouraged. Mass removing content like that will result the content being restored anyways – Ramhound Jun 6 '17 at 1:42

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .