Basically I just want to ask whether a room owner can see deleted room, transcript, messages in that room.

This came up in a recent conversation in chat with another user who mentioned that they cannot see the room I linked to. I have tested and I saw that when I'm not logged in, I do not see the room either. So I thought that this is privilege tied somehow with the reputation. (Still, they were able to see a room which was frozen rather than deleted.)

I searched a bit and found this answer which says that a deleted room should be visible to "moderators, room owners, and users with at least 10k network reputation". But when I look at the room info, the user in question is listed there as the only room owner.

So now I am not really sure whether the information provided in the linked answer is exactly correct. (Still I have decided to tag this rather than , since it is quite probable that there are some other rules about this I am unaware of.)

  • 2
    There is a deleted/frozen rooms button if you click the button: i.stack.imgur.com/MTE7c.png you see frozen and deleted rooms but in incognito mode I only see frozen rooms and I can see my own frozen/delete rooms from my chat profile but I have 10K everywhere .... – rene Aug 26 '17 at 10:28

No, room ownership does not allow one to see the room after it was deleted.

Source: I am an owner of this deleted room and I get only an error message trying to access it.

  • 1
    I can see that room though, I'm also an RO there, I even entered it. Rep matters ... i.stack.imgur.com/YVIjb.png – rene Aug 26 '17 at 17:06
  • @rene of course, only rep. 10k most likely, same as seeing deleted posts. – Shadow Wizard Aug 26 '17 at 19:12

Only users having >= 10k reputation and moderators can see the deleted rooms.

I recommend to visit Is there a list of SE chat privileges, and the minimum reputation required for those privileges?

10k rep:

  1. be notified of spam/offensive flags (the number of active flags appears in a circle on your gravatar)
  2. view frozen and deleted rooms (read access only if allowed).
  • Room owners aren't privileged to list deleted rooms.

  • Modetators can see deleted rooms and delete/undelete rooms.

Note that Chat related privileges are not site specific.

  • Hm... the user in question explicitly said that they see the room which was frozen (but not deleted). The same is mentioned in this comment. And rene mentions frozen rooms in the comment about test in incognito mode. – Martin Aug 27 '17 at 9:01
  • Still, even if some information there contradict experiments we can all do, +1 for a useful link. (I assume the information there will be eventually corrected.) – Martin Aug 27 '17 at 9:21

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .