0

I am using the SE app. Clicking on the achievement button I see a line stating " SE xxxx -10 user removed ".

I did very little activity on that SE and received very few upvotes.

I was never unpolite nor involved in sensitive topics or debates, especially because the SE topic in itself is unlikely to led to misbehaviour.

Does it really means that I have been removed and especially it is normal to be removed without warning or a more explicative notification?

Can I contact the moderator(s) of a specific SE and, if yes, how?

marked as duplicate by Glorfindel, ben is uǝq backwards, Josh Caswell, Robert Longson, Nathan Tuggy Dec 17 '17 at 14:34

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

  • 1
    You haven’t been removed. Another user was removed. That user had voted up one of your answers (or maybe 2 if your questions, etc), which had given you 10 points. Since the user was removed, that vote was invalidated, so the points you earned from it were also removed. This happens when a user quits, or is removed by the mods for other reasons (for example, when they catch a sock puppet account). It has nothing to do with your behavior. Unless it was your sock puppet account ;) – Dan Bron Dec 17 '17 at 13:53
  • @Dan Bron. Thank you. It was not a drama but I felt it disturbing :). May I ask what a sock puppet account is? – Alchimista Dec 17 '17 at 13:58
  • @Alchimista One human being having multiple accounts each pretending to be a separate, indivisible human being. Possibly voting on each others’ posts or even engaging in “conversation”. Like you would with a sock puppet :) – Dan Bron Dec 17 '17 at 14:00
3

This happens - you didn't do anything wrong. A user who upvoted you got deleted, either cause they acted inappropriately or simply chose to delete their account.

Since votes are mostly anonymous (we can't tell who voted for a specific post - but there's safeguards for voting fraud in place) - no one can tell you who was removed.

Its not you - its someone else. That said, I have no idea what actually happens when a user's on the SE app and gets deleted but chances are it wouldn't be that.

I'd suggest confirming on the mobile web page (or the regular one) if you were still worried.

Assuming you did get deleted, and it was a mistake, things get messy. You'd likely need to use the "contact us" link at the bottom of the site - calmly and politely explain what happened and if someone made a mistake, they'll get someone from SE to fix it. Otherwise, presumably someone will let you know.

  • Ok now it is clear. Wasn't me. – Alchimista Dec 17 '17 at 14:01

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .