I'm writing up the badge criteria FAQ and it's unclear in the blog post as to whether or not self-answers are considered towards the Lifejacket and Lifeboat badges.

If I answer my own negatively-scored question, it later goes on to earn a positive enough score, and my self-answer scores highly enough, do I earn these badges?

  • 3
    If there is something unclear in the question, or if I missed something in the blog post, it would be very kind if I knew what it was so I can improve my question. If you believe that it shouldn't be awarded to self-answers and disagree with what this question asks about, wait for an answer here, and if it's that it is awarded to self-answers, file a feature request asking that it not be. – Sonic the Anonymous Hedgehog Jun 18 '19 at 16:58
  • 2
    Somebody apparently hates lifejackets/lifeboats. I've checked if there is any information available about the Red Baron type hats and self-answers, but zip. Next Sunday we might be able to infer some statistics from SEDE (though it doesn't know which post you earned a badge on, but it might limit the # of badges we need to check). – Glorfindel Jun 18 '19 at 17:10

Yes, you do indeed. Or at least, I did:

example of lifejacket on elu.meta question

for this answer to my own question.

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .