35

This is extremely annoying behaviour. If you've voted to delete a post and then you press the delete button again, you can now rescind that vote, but then you can't vote again!

Because the button is exactly the same and there is always a confirmation popup when deleting, many people have made the mistake of accidentally retracting their delete votes unintentionally. This is unacceptable and needs a fix.

I propose to change the button text/look to make it more obvious that one has already voted to delete. Or maybe use a different popup. Or allow people to cast the vote again if they accidentally retracted it (but not after the post has been undeleted).

5
  • 10
  • 1
    That said, I like these alternate ideas better than that idea.
    – Ryan M
    Nov 12 at 12:21
  • 5
    It's a bit annoying, and you're prone to retract delete votes accidentally, yes. Just happened today to me. I don't care which solution should be implemented, both proposals are fine for me. Nov 12 at 14:50
  • I haven't used this yet, but I see this is very true. Nov 12 at 17:11
  • 2
    This 1000 times. I have already retracted several delete votes by mistake. Another solution would be to allow casting the vote again within some small time frame, like 5 minutes. Nov 20 at 9:19

You must log in to answer this question.

Browse other questions tagged .