Can the taxonomist badge be awarded more than once?

I would think so, but there are only 874 badges awarded and over 1500 tags that have been used 50+ times. The definition states "Created a tag used by 50 questions"

marked as duplicate by gnat, Hugo Dozois, Danny Beckett, yhw42, hims056 Jul 22 '13 at 1:07

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.


EDIT not by Jeff:

"Current the Taxonomist badge is not awarded multiple times. [This] answer is over 2 years old, so I'll clarify what the current intent is when Jeff gets back from vacation." – Nick Craver♦ [Nov 30, 2011]

Yes, it can be awarded more than once.

And tags can also be created by anonymous users who eventually get culled.


  • 3
    Ah. Culled users. Never occurred to me. Humph. – Stu Thompson Jun 28 '09 at 10:50
  • Recently, it was brought to my attention that taxonomist badge can only be awarded once. See FAQ. – Shai Jun 17 '13 at 6:06
  • "can be awarded more than once" is wrong (outdated) answer: List of all badges with full descriptions says: "awarded once" – gnat Jul 21 '13 at 21:32

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .