Just came across this site: http://www.puzzleoverflow.com

It looks exactly the same as a Stack Exchange site. It doesn't seem to have any connection with SE, though, and it's not mentioned on Stack Exchange or anything.


Take a look at its source:

<meta name="generator" content="StackExchange 0.9 (20100413135304-37b86aed49ad)">

I'd say it's a SE-1.0 site (or someone asking for a law suit)

  • Can't seem to find it in the SE 1.0 site list: meta.stackexchange.com/questions/4/… – Piskvor left the building Sep 16 '10 at 12:58
  • 1
    @Piskvor: I'm not certain that list is complete, SE 1.0 allowed for private usage too. Maybe someone from the team can clarify this – Tobias Kienzler Sep 16 '10 at 13:03
  • Ah, good point. We're kind of guessing here. OTOH, the links in non-obvious places point to StackOverflow.com, there is no contact info, no legal info, nothing. (the even FAQ has "we don't run %(sitename), you do"). I'm guessing "clone"; added to the SO clones list: meta.stackexchange.com/questions/2267/stack-overflow-clones – Piskvor left the building Sep 16 '10 at 13:09
  • If it runs on the engine, it's almost certainly not an unauthorized clone. I'm with Tobias, it's more likely a SE1.0 site that just needs to be added to the list. – C. Ross Sep 16 '10 at 13:35

It is a StackExchange site. In addition to checking the metadata, you can also visit it at http://puzzleoverflow.stackexchange.com/


It was a Stack Exchange 1.0 puzzle site. It was a lot of fun and I think it'd have a place as part of a larger Stack Exchange built around Interviewing. But There isn't one of those yet.

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .