Is developerquestion.com a Stack Exchange ripoff, or is there some valid connection to SE? I.e. does it use the Stack Exchange framework (it really looks very similar)?

Interestingly, it mirrors all the questions of the Stack Exchange sites. Unfortunately, the site does not contain any "about" info at all.

  • Sadly, there's a list of ripoffs that break the rules. For completeness, there's also a list of valid clones.
    – Pops
    Commented Oct 13, 2010 at 12:28
  • Probably just a ripoff, but who cares? Anyway, thanks for advertising them and increasing their Google-juice a bit.
    – JohnFx
    Commented Oct 13, 2010 at 14:36
  • 5
    @JohnFx it's perfectly valid to point out rip-offs here. It's the explicit standing request of the SO Team to do so
    – Pekka
    Commented Oct 13, 2010 at 16:08
  • This site is already listed in the master list.
    – Jon Seigel
    Commented Oct 13, 2010 at 16:50
  • @Pekka, I think that at the time JohnFx posted the comment, the URL was a link; not sure if it was nofollow -ed.
    – Pops
    Commented Oct 13, 2010 at 17:00
  • @Popular I thought all links were nofollowed, excluding website links on your profile at a certain reputation level?
    – Grace Note StaffMod
    Commented Oct 13, 2010 at 17:04
  • @Grace, I thought so too, but didn't remember the source, so I hedged.
    – Pops
    Commented Oct 13, 2010 at 17:15
  • @Popular Well, I was going to search for nofollow to get the original post, but I think the search results speak for themselves.
    – Grace Note StaffMod
    Commented Oct 13, 2010 at 17:26

3 Answers 3


A rip-off, and it fails on points 3 and 4 of attribution required - send in the ninjas!

  • 7
    +1 for "Send in the ninjas!" ha! Commented Oct 13, 2010 at 7:25
  • 2
    It's slow as hell, don't think it will hold long anyways. Commented Oct 13, 2010 at 12:34
  • 3
    @Martijn: I do not know, if hell is slow, but, hell, it is slow! Commented Oct 13, 2010 at 13:05
  • They seem to be complying now.
    – Pekka
    Commented Nov 8, 2010 at 11:44
  • @Pekka - gotta love them ninjas. They get the job done. Commented Nov 8, 2010 at 12:03
  • @Marc yeah. Although part of me would like to see that crappy ad-heap turned into smoldering ruins rather than complying with the license... But that's the price of freedom (CC-Wiki).
    – Pekka
    Commented Nov 8, 2010 at 12:21

Looks to be a rip off to me.

It isn't listed on the SE 1.0 post or on Stack Exchange Sites

Also, this is in the footer of the website:

The questions and answers come from yahoo answers, serverfault.com, stackoverflow.com and superuser.com, and are licensed under the cc-wiki license. site design / logo © 2010 developerquestion.com user contributions licensed under cc-wiki

Just looks like it pulls Q&A from all over the place.


A bunch (2619 questions as of now) are tagged "stack overflow".

I like its "About" statement:

Developer Question is a collaboratively (adverb that adjective, yea baby) question and answer site for programmers. It\'s (escape that apostrophe) 100% free to post and answer programming questions.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .