Have been using metaoptimize for a while now and didn't even notice that there are some subtle differences, so does it belong to the SE family or it's just clone of the stackoverflow idea?

  • Funny, the name of their badges are changed but some of the desciptions are identical. Its just so not SO. Commented Dec 9, 2010 at 14:26

2 Answers 2


It doesn't have the SE 1.0 meta tag:

<meta name="generator" content="StackExchange 0.9 (20100413135304-37b86aed49ad)">

and it has "powered by OSQA" in the footer.

So it's just a clone.

  • Did notice these bits and have thought about quiet launch maybe?? It looks like this Q&A model SE is offering is just the best for communication and there will be more and more sites inspired by stackoverflow.com.
    – matcheek
    Commented Dec 9, 2010 at 14:24
  • 4
    @matcheek - the SE 2.0 sites are all about generating traffic so there won't be a "quiet launch".
    – ChrisF Mod
    Commented Dec 9, 2010 at 14:26
  • 1
    In that case they shouldn't be allowed to use Stack Exchange now would they?
    – Ivo Flipse
    Commented Dec 9, 2010 at 16:22

MetaOptimize runs off of OSQA, which is a blatant ripoff of StackExchange an open-source alternative Q&A engine. It isn't otherwise affiliated with SO.

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .