38

The /review page displays questions matching the following criteria:

  • first answers from new users
  • first questions from new users
  • late answers provided by low-rep users
  • low-quality posts; I don't know the quality algorithm, but it presumably changes rarely if at all

EDIT to include info from comments:
If I understand correctly, the posts listed under all of these categories will never change. That is, once a post is added, it will never fail to meet the criteria (unless it is edited, which is rare). The posts listed in the last category will never change. The posts listed in the others will eventually disappear as the OPs get more rep. (That seems like a flawed system to me, though; a user's first post doesn't automatically improve just because the user got better after writing that post.)

As a result, the number of posts listed on the review page will increase steadily over time, while the percentage of posts that actually need attention will diminish. To resolve this issue, we need a way to get non-problematic posts off the list.

EDIT to merge in the contents of a duplicate question:
There should be a "mark as okay" button that will remove valid posts from the review page. It could require a number of users (three?) to click it before the post is removed. This will clean up the question list and thus make it easier to review.

10
  • Actually, the first 3 will cease to qualify when the user ceases to be new/low-rep.
    – Grace Note StaffMod
    Jan 7, 2011 at 16:11
  • 2
    Agreed, I took a sweep through the review page and noticed lots of posts that were not problematic. (Or problematic enough to flag)
    – jjnguy
    Jan 7, 2011 at 16:12
  • And the first two will stop qualifying when a user is no longer "new".
    – Shog9
    Jan 7, 2011 at 16:14
  • Yeah, I wasn't sure about those. I originally wrote more about each case, but decided it was too much text and cut it all. The last bullet point is the most problematic anyways. (@Grace @Shog)
    – Pops
    Jan 7, 2011 at 16:30
  • If we extrapolate from the forthcoming edition review system, we need an 'approve' to match the current 'reject'.
    – Benjol
    Jan 22, 2011 at 19:39
  • Has this been committed yet?
    – Myles Gray
    Mar 7, 2011 at 18:47
  • 4
    +1 for the "flag as OK" button, as long as it is only available to reviewers with a minimum amount of reputation, e.g. 2k. It would definitely reduce the posts in the review page if posts that were considered acceptable by, say, 5 such reviewers were removed. I, for, one am getting sick and tired of seeing the same posts over and over again...
    – thkala
    Mar 28, 2011 at 19:21
  • Apart from a "flag as OK" which removes a question from /review for everyone, it would be great to have a "hide for me" button. Reviewing would be much more fun if I could actually see the list get shorter with every answer I read, even if I decide to neither upvote nor flag (for example since I leave a comment suggesting improvements). Aug 24, 2011 at 22:44
  • @PopularDemand does meta.stackexchange.com/questions/75953/… resolve this?
    – waffles
    Oct 31, 2011 at 8:46
  • I believe it does, @waffles.
    – Pops
    Oct 31, 2011 at 14:15

2 Answers 2

6

This has been resolved: see Allow marking posts as reviewed on /review and hide them

5
  • 2
    "not very bad" != "good enough to up vote" Jun 10, 2011 at 8:20
  • @Ian a users first upvote on the website is a pretty special moment, I would argue that if it is not worth a downvote and is helpful in some way it is worth an upvote being the first post
    – waffles
    Jun 10, 2011 at 11:56
  • 1
    I used to think this until SO got more "new" (none trained programmer) users then it could cope with Jun 10, 2011 at 14:19
  • @waffles: The low quality tab also features editing besides voting and flagging. Editing the contributions listed there is a good way to keep the quality of a community high, especially on new communities... Aug 23, 2011 at 22:29
  • @Tom yes totally agree there.
    – waffles
    Aug 24, 2011 at 1:42
4

I think to understand /review you have to realize that there is

1) Stack Overflow, which is 1000x larger than everything else

and

2) well, everything else

Stated another way, when you have THREE THOUSAND SIX HUNDRED plus new questions every day -- and many times that in answers -- your strategy has to change radically. That's why you must hone in on specific tags on the /review page on Stack Overflow.

review page by tag

(for comparison SF and SU get about ONE HUNDRED new questions per day).

If you attempt to review "everything", you will either burn out or give up entirely.

Either

  • drilling down to specific tags

or

  • reviewing a random sample

… are the only sane things to do in this scenario, and that's exactly why we switch to random ordering once you view anything on /review that has more than 90 entries.

(the other problem is that default sorting by votes leads to a "rich get richer, poor get poorer" paradigm where the good stuff gets super-up-voted and the bad stuff gets pummeled into sub-atomic particles)

3
  • it's also worth noting that since this question was asked, we enabled "review" showing on the homepage where "tools" would go for users between 200 and 10k rep -- and review is a pseudo-tab on the tools as well. Jun 10, 2011 at 7:54
  • stackoverflow.com/review/… filtered to c#
    – waffles
    Jun 10, 2011 at 7:55
  • @waffles stackoverflow.com/review/… filtered by day. There's your precious sort order.. Jun 10, 2011 at 8:31

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .