Possible Duplicate:
Is it legal to copy Stack Overflow questions and answers?

I saw similar posts before, so I am reporting one I did not find already posted here: nujk.com

Edit: I found it's not a clone, but just takes the content from SO and displays ads.

  • 1
    Does it have attribution for the posts? If not then it definitely needs reporting. – ChrisF Apr 5 '11 at 13:01
  • 1
    I don't think there is need to report this: It's not copying content from SO. Cloning the UI is fair game – Pekka Apr 5 '11 at 13:01
  • 5
    Correction, they seem to be scraping data from all sorts of places like this one. THat is probably not okay. Not sure whether any SO content is among it, though - I can't see any – Pekka Apr 5 '11 at 13:02
  • that's some weird-ass usernames and WTF the font about? Post a link here: meta.stackexchange.com/questions/24611/… – tombull89 Apr 5 '11 at 13:05
  • also possible related, depending on if they are using the inferface or scraping answers too: meta.stackexchange.com/questions/2267/stack-overflow-clones – tombull89 Apr 5 '11 at 13:06
  • 2
    @Pekka http://www.nujk.com/global-javascript-variable-scope-why-doesn-39-t-this-work versus stackoverflow.com/questions/2685388/… seem the same, except for the user names? (The very first I searched for.) – Arjan Apr 5 '11 at 13:18
  • @Arjan ah, fair enough. All the ones I searched for were from elsewhere. Well, in that case, this site definitely needs burninating. The user names are indeed weird, too – Pekka Apr 5 '11 at 13:19
  • @tombull89 Oh god, chiller... I hate that font. Looks like they copied not only the questions but also the UI. All of the 'users' asking and answer the questions however have been replaced with fake ones. This is horrible... – Yi Jiang Apr 5 '11 at 13:20
  • @Arjan - they're definitely using API to grab "our" content, problem is they make it appear as it's their own. – Shadow The Vaccinated Wizard Apr 5 '11 at 13:21
  • 3
    @Arjan: That's a clear violation. No links back to the site they scraped, plus they're replacing the names of people who posted content with fake names. – Bill the Lizard Apr 5 '11 at 13:21
  • 2
    I've added it to the on-going list that's being maintained in this answer. Thanks for the report! – Tim Post Apr 5 '11 at 13:21

This website is really fishy for the following reasons:

  1. No footer
  2. The "author" according to meta tags is 189881000@qq.com
  3. This is found in their source code: <div class="everyonelovesstackoverflow" id="adzerk2">

All in all, I strongly belive that website is indeed illegal.


Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .